Kenneth Scott Latourette was a professor of Missions and Oriental History for over three decades at YDS (1921-1953). His time there "yielded a herculean writing output" (Waddle, 115), though that did not mean he was locked away all the time. He was also "well-connected in the global Protestant missionary movement" (100) and "known as Uncle Ken to students who gathered around him for regular Bible study and prayer" (117). He now has a lecture hall named after him at YDS.

The Divinity Archives' extensive collection includes considerable correspondence, diaries and other personal items, and various writings and manuscripts.

Explore Record Group 3 (70 lin. ft., 169 boxes).

Sydney E. Ahlstrom was a professor of American History and Modern Religious History at YDS (1954-1984). He held prominent positions on various boards and organizations, such as the Editorial Board of the Complete Works of Jonathan Edwards, and was also very active in the Lutheran church.

The Divinity Archives' collection on Ahlstrom includes correspondence, materials from the organizations he was a part of, writings, materials he collected, and other memorabilia. It also includes his course related materials, such as his lecture notes of one word per page.

Explore Record Group 8 (20 lin. ft., 49 boxes).

Roland H. Bainton "personified YDS itself," from his academic prowess and thirty-two books to his warm conversation and "charming caricatures of students and faculty" (Waddle, 142). As a student he was a conscientious objector from WWI, which led to clashes with faculty, while as a faculty member himself (a professor of ecclesiastical history, 1923-1962) his biography of Martin Luther sold over a million copies.

The Divinity Archives' collection includes a wide range of correspondence, writings, course-related materials, other notes and memorabilia, and a whole series of sketches.

Explore Record Group 75 (35 lin. ft., 86 boxes).

George A. Lindbeck, as a professor of historical theology (1955-1993), was a major figure in the postliberal movement in theology along with his colleague Hans Frei. He was also notable for his work in ecumenism, such as when he served as a Lutheran delegate at the Second Vatican Council.

The Divinity Archives' collection includes correspondence, writings and notes, various collected materials, and other personal items and memorabilia.

Explore Record Group 172 (38.5 lin. ft., 92 boxes).