Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Biblical Studies Guide: Journal Articles

A guide to resources available at the Yale Divinity Library for Biblical Studies.

3. Article Databases for Biblical Studies

5. Biblical Studies Journals: Electronic

1. Using Databases to Find Articles

There are various databases that can help you identify journal articles in the subject area of Biblical studies. On this page of the guide we've highlighted the best ones. However, there are many more databases available to you on the Articles+ page of the Yale University Library's web site.

Every database is somewhat different, but most allow you to search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword. Sometimes, an instructional guide or help for the database is available by clicking on the More Info button in the record for the database.ATLA Database More Info link

If you find yourself having problems in searching a database, don't hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance.

Many of the databases will provide not only a citation for the article, but a link to the full text of the article. However, not all databases provide this. If you don't see a link from the citation to the article in full text, it may still be available in full-text from another database. Look for the Yale Linksbutton and click on it to see if the article is available in full-text from another database.

If the article you want is not available in full-text through any of the library's databases, you will have to see if it is available in print. Search the Orbis catalog for the journal title (NOT the article title) by using Journal/Newspaper/Magazine Title as the search type. Be sure to note which library holds the journal, and whether or not it has the specific issue in which the article you want is located.

4. Print Indexes

While more and more journal articles can be searched using electronic databases, print indexes are still available and can be helpful, especially if you have a very specific topic in mind or if you are looking for more historical material not covered by the electronic databases. The following is a selected list of some of the print indexes available at the Divinity Library.

6. Biblical Studies Journals: Print

Yale Divinity Library

Suzanne Estelle-Holmer's picture
Suzanne Estelle-Holmer
Contact:
Yale Divinity School Library
409 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT 06511

L-203
203-432-6374