Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.

Biblical Studies Guide: Background Information

A guide to resources available at the Yale Divinity Library for Biblical Studies.

1. Introduction

There are a number of good reference resources for finding background information and getting you started in the field of Biblical Studies.

Research guides, handbooks, companions, and bibliographies will direct you to important resources for your topic. For background information specific to the area of Hebrew Bible / Old Testament, go to Research guides, handbooks, companions and bibliographies under Hebrew Bible / Old Testament. For background information specific to the area of New Testament, go to Research guides, handbooks, companions and bibliographies under New Testament.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are also helpful, especially for providing an overview of a topic. These may also provide brief bibliographies with further resources that may be helpful for your research. For dictionaries and encyclopedias specific to the Hebrew Bible / Old Testament, go to Dictionaries & Encyclopedias under Hebrew Bible / Old Testament. For dictionaries and encyclopedias specific to the New Testament, go to Dictionaries & Encyclopedias under New Testament.

2. Research guides, handbooks, companions and bibliographies

Research guides, handbooks, companions, introductory texts and bibliographies can help you get a sense of the discipline of biblical studies, and can guide you toward more specifc resources.

3. Research guides, handbooks, companions, and bibliographies: Hebrew Bible/Old Testament

5. Research Guides & Bibliographies: Special Topics

6. Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

7. Dictionaries & Encyclopedias: Hebrew Bible/Old Testament