Single-volume commentaries are longer and more in-depth than introductions or footnotes, but shorter than commentaries on one given HB book. Single-volume commentaries typically highlight particular themes or concerns.
Africa Bible Commentary by
A one-volume Bible commentary produced in Africa by African theologians to meet the needs of African pastors, students, and lay leaders.
Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary by 
The Classic Bible Commentary by
A one volume collection of classic commentaries on every book of the Bible, by some of history's finest preachers and theologians.
Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible by
Tries to summarize the best of modern scholarship on the sixty-six biblical books plus the Apocrypha.
The Expositor's Bible Commentary by
Offers comprehensive yet succinct commentary from evangelical scholars. Includes volumes on Genesis-Leviticus, Numbers-Ruth, and 1 Samuel-2 Kings.
HarperCollins Bible Commentary - Revised Edition by
Covers all of the Hebrew Bible, as well as the books of the Apocrypha and those of the New Testament.
The Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century by
A revision of the New Jerome Biblical Commentary, featuring the leading international Catholic scholars of our day.
New Collegeville Bible Commentary by
Brings together every volume of the New Collegeville Bible Commentary series into a single, accessible guide to the Bible.
The New Interpreter's Bible One-Volume Commentary by
Contains articles on all the books of the Bible, including the Apocrypha, as well as numerous general articles on biblical interpretation, geographical and historical setting, etc.
The Oxford Bible Commentary by
A Bible study and reference work that offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars.
South Asia Bible Commentary by
A one-volume commentary, written and edited by South Asian Biblical scholars on all the books of the Bible.
Women's Bible Commentary by
Introduces and summarizes each book of the Bible and comments on those sections of each book that have particular relevance to women
Zondervan Bible Commentary by
Based on the New International Bible Commentary. Evangelical in orientation.
Commentary series offer in-depth investigations (with a variety of approaches, interests, and goals) of individual books according to consistent editorial standards.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries (Online Database) by
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and form one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars.
The JPS Torah Commentary by
Guides readers through the words and ideas of the Torah. Includes volumes on all books of the Pentateuch.
International Critical Commentary
Very technical commentary series. Many volumes are dated but others are more recent.
New International Commentary on the New Testament by
A series written by broadly evangelical authors that balance historical criticism with theological interpretation.
New International Commentary on the Old Testament by
A commentary series written by broadly evangelical authors. Includes volumes on all books of the Hebrew Bible.
New Testament Library by
The New Testament Library series offers commentary on the books and major aspects of the New Testament, providing fresh translations based on the best available ancient manuscripts, critical portrayals of the historical world in which the books were created, careful attention to their literary design, and a theologically perceptive exposition of the biblical text.
Word Biblical Commentary by
A commentary series from a broadly evangelical perspective. Slightly more technical than the New International Commentary Series.
Abingdon New Testament Commentaries
Written with special attention to the needs and interests of theological students, but they will also be useful for students in upper-level college or university settings, as well as for pastors and other religious leaders.
Abingdon Old Testament Commentaries
The Abingdon Old Testament Commentaries series offers compact, critical commentaries on all the books of the Old Testament. In addition to providing fundamental information on and insights into Old Testament writings, these commentaries exemplify the tasks and procedures of careful, critical exegesis so as to assist students of the Old Testament in coming to an informed engagement of the biblical texts themselves.
Ancient Christian Commentary of Scripture by
Provides texts from ancient church writers on biblical passages. Most passages are short and designed to point you to read the full text for yourself.
Wisdom Commentary Series by
Offers detailed feminist interpretation on the Bible. Most of the volumes are from the New Testament.
Hermeneia Series: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible (Online)
Mostly focused on New Testament and prophetic and wisdom literature in Hebrew Bible.
Belief: A Theological Commentary on the Bible by
Focuses less on traditional historical and literary angles in favor of a theologically focused commentary that considers the contemporary relevance of the texts.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved