It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
The most recent German edition of Altaner's patrology. "In this edition, the text of the 7th ed. (1966) is reprinted, unchanged, with additional bibliography (to 1977) placed in the Anhang, p. 535-662, and keyed to original entries." (Balay BC300)
Contents: vol. 1, The beginnings of patristic literature; vol. 2, The Ante-Nicene literature after Irenaeus; vol. 3, The golden age of Greek patristic literature from the Council of Nicaea to the Council of Chalcedon; vol. 4, The golden age of Latin patristic literature from the Council of Nicea to the Council of Chalcedon. Vol. 4, published by Christian Classics, Westminster, MD, and edited by Angelo di Berardino, is a translation of vol. 3 of the Italian edition (Patrologia, 1978) and is the intended continuation of the English edition.
"'A new Patrology that strives to place at the disposal of the English-reading public a solid introduction to Early Christian literature.'--Pref. Extensive bibliographies list critical editions, translations into modern languages, and articles and monographic studies of the writings discussed. Vol. 4 contains a brief introduction by the ailing Quasten and is designated as the final volume of his monumental work. 'While following in its general outlines the methodological criteria of Quasten, the work attempts to see the Fathers in their political and social context and to give more space to the problematics of contemporary patristic research.'--Pref. Indexes: scripture, ancient writers, authors, subjects." (Balay BC301) Useful but not authoritative in scholarly questions. Roman Catholic theological perspective.
In Italian. Vol. l. Fino al Concilio di Nicea; v. 2. Dal Concilio di Nicea (325) a quello di Calcedonia (451): i padri graece; v. 3. Dal Concilio di Nicea (325) al Concilio di Calcedonia (451): i padri latini. Vols. 1-2 are a translation by N. Beghin of vols. 1-3 of Patrology. Vol. 3 is edited by Angelo di Berardino.
"Includes books and articles selected for their value and accessibility to students; entries offer evaluative, useful annotations and employ symbols to indicate sourcebooks, summary articles, general works, and book reviews... Excludes specifically New Testament materials; includes important materials on the Roman empire. Modern author index and general index." (Balay BC222)
Complete analysis of works of and about Greek and Latin literature and culture. Includes considerable Christian material from the late Roman empire. Includes lists of book reviews as well as indexes at the end of each volume. Also available as an online database.
Attempts "to list every Christian woman who wrote before 1500 C.E. and her writings that have appeared in print since 1800"--Introd. Organized roughly chronologically, entries each give a brief description of the person or work they contain, occasionally followed by citations to secondary works. Intended to be a usable guide for non-specialists as well as a reference source for scholars in a number of different disciplines.
Issued annually. Currently only published up through v.33/35 (1988/1990).
"A committee of patristic scholars of various confessions contributes to this listing of studies about the early Christian Fathers and related historical and theological topics. Each volume contains more than 3,000 entries in a classed arrangement, with entries repeated under appropriate subjects. Includes book reviews and author index." (Balay BC295)
"Lists almost 200 bibliographies published as books, parts of books, journal articles, in encyclopedias, etc. Most entries are annotated and reviews are often noted. Armenian, Ethiopian, Georgian and Arabic literature are excluded; Syriac literature was not searched exhaustively." (Balay BC298)
Index to the patristic writings arranged by biblical passage. Each volume is arranged in canonical order. References to a passage by church fathers are listed under the biblical texts. The project is to cover from the 1st through the 9th century. Volume 1 covers the first two centuries; v. 2 covers 3rd century, omitting Origen;v. 3 Origen;v. 4 Eusebius, Cyril of Jerusalem & Epiphanius;v. 5 Basil of Caesarea, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa & Amphilochius; v. 6 Hilary of Poitiers, Ambrose of Milan & Ambrosiaste Supplement: Philov. 7 Didyme d’Alexandrie.
Translation of Dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane. "Concise, authoritative, signed articles, written by an international team of 167 scholars, cover topics in archaeology, philosophy, linguistics, history, theology, and geography to about 750 CE. Special attention is given to the relationship between Christianity and the pagan world. Bibliographies have been updated to 1991. Includes a synoptic table of secular, ecclesiastical, cultural, and doctrinal matters. Separate section of maps and illustrations; index." (Balay BC275)
This work is a translation of the German work, Lexikon der Antiken Christlichen. The scope of the work is patristic literature, which in this work not only includes church fathers writing from the first centuries of the church in both the East and the West, but also the writings of Christian Gnostics and the manuscripts found at Nag Hammadi. There are also articles on more general issues such as translation, literary genres (dialogues, epistles, vitae, etc.), schools and the languages of early Christian writing. The work is extremely comprehensive. Entries range from a paragraph in length to several pages. Entries on more important figures (Ambrose of Milan, Augustine, for example) tend to divide into biography, works and teachings. According to the Forward, the focus is less on the impact of the writer’s work on later theology and more on the importance of the work for the writer’s contemporaries. There is a list of the more than 100 contributors to this work, most of whom are European patristics scholars. Bibliographies appear at the end of each article, and are divided, where applicable, into sources (indicated by “S”), works (indicated by “W”), and literature (indicated by “L”). An index of names is provided. This is an indispensable reference work for the patristic scholar, most especially because of its comprehensiveness.
"Excellent signed articles, with full bibliographies, on institutions, manners, and customs of primitive Christianity, and on the architecture, Christian art, iconography, symbols, epigraphy, paleography, numismatics, liturgy, rites, and ceremonies of the early church to the time of Charlemagne. Covers much of the same ground as William Smith and Samuel Cheetham, Dictionary of Christian antiquities... but with fuller and more up-to-date treatment." (Balay BC246)
"Brief entries, intended for quick reference, cover people, movements, and terms from the first six centuries of Christianity. A bibliographic essay provides information on related reference sources." (Balay BC247)
"Aims to supply an adequate account, based upon original authorities, of all persons connected with the church--down to the age of Charlemagne--about whom anything is known, of all literature connected with them, and of the controversies about doctrine and discipline in which they were engaged. Pays special attention to subjects and names in English, Scottish, and Irish church history. Signed articles; bibliographies." (Balay BC249)
"Covers persons, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms from the time of Jesus to approximately 600 CE. Articles by 135 specialists include bibliographies and cross-references. Extensive subject index. Intended for general readers, students, and professors in fields outside religion who want information concerning early Christianity." (Balay BC274)
The focus of this one-volume encyclopedic dictionary is primarily on the literary methods of the Greco-Roman society and culture that influenced the writing of the in New Testament and early Christian literature, and secondarily on the contemporary methods used by scholars to interpret and understand this literature. Entries are alphabetical by topic. Asterisked words or phrases indicate that there is a separate entry for the term. Each entry ends with a list of related entries. Most articles also come with a bibliography with abbreviated entries consisting of the last names of authors and the dates of publications; complete bibliographical information is provided at the end of the volume.
"Provides a wealth of information on early Christian history; saints and other important Coptic church figures; art and architecture; and archaeology of the lands currently called Egypt, Nubia/Sudan, and Ethiopia. An international group of scholars contributed 2,800 signed articles, ranging in length from a brief paragraph to several pages and including cross-references, bibliographies, and many illustrations. More than 400 entries are devoted to monasteries. Vol. 8 consists of an appendix of articles on the current knowledge of the origins of the Coptic language and its dialects, 12 maps, and the index." (Balay BC452)
"A scholarly dictionary, with signed articles, covering biography, literature, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, geography, etc. Most of the articles are brief, but there are some longer survey articles, e.g., Rome, music, scholarship, etc. Bibliographies are appended to most articles, and are usually limited to a few of the best works on the subject, in English and foreign languages. Bibliographies for the articles on the great classical writers usually include texts, commentaries, translations, lexicons, style, life, criticism, etc." (Balay DA103)
4. Library of Congress Subject Headings
The following is a list of the major Library of Congress subject headings
for the history of ancient Christianity. A subject search in Orbis with
these headings will bring up general works under these categories as well
as further sub-headings.
Church history--Primitive and early church, ca. 30-600
Fathers of the church
Christian literature, Early
Christian art and symbolism--To 500
Art, Early Christian
Many works on early Christianity are organized in the LC system under more specific subject areas. When searching for information on a particular topic, one can narrow the search to ancient Christianity as follows:
[topic, e.g. Baptism, Mysticism]--History--Early church, ca. 30-600
[topic, e.g. Jesus Christ, Trinity]--History of doctrines--Early church, ca. 30-600
The correct forms for topics (to fill in the bracketed space) are most easily found from other Orbis records. Do a keyword search for the topic desired and check the LC subject headings of the works listed.
For major subject headings, the Orbis system also presents a list of additional headings under the note "Search also under." These headings are either related general subjects or related narrower topics. Selecting the line number for one of these offered headings will automatically execute the search.