Yale University Library Research Guides: History of Christianity Guide: MedievalChristianity

1. Research Guides & Bibliographies

Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages: a Research Guide by Linda Kay Davidson, Maryjane Dunn-Wood
Call Number: BV5067 D38 1993 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
For university students, with English-speaking orientation. Includes an overview and guide to the history and study of medieval pilgrimage, and an annotated bibliography of 1062 entries. There is also a 7-page appendix for orientation to medieval studies generally.
Guide to the Sources of Medieval History by R. C. van Caenegem
Call Number: D117 C2213 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Standard handbook for sources (manuscripts, etc.); chapters on locating and interpreting collection of manuscripts. Bibliography of bibliographies in introduction, all evaluated. Also includes references for ancillary disciplines (paleography, linguistics, prosopography, etc.), as well as guides to manuscript indexes and collections.
A Guide to the Study of Medieval History by Louis John Paetow
Call Number: Z6203 P25 1980 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
1980 reprint with errata and addendum to original edition of 1931. A standard introduction to the field, with very extensive bibliography. Part I includes chapters on method, historiography, and bibliographies of reference works, general texts, and source collections. Parts II and III feature brief outlines for Paetow's courses with extensive bibliography, lightly annotated, for each "lecture."
Literature of Medieval History, 1930-1975: a Supplement to Louis John Paetow’s A Guide to the Study of Medieval History by compiled and edited by Gray Cowan Boyce
Call Number: Z6203 P25 1980 Suppl (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Serial Bibliographies for Medieval Studies by Richard H. Rouse
Call Number: Z6203 R66 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Contains 283 entries, annotated, to relevant serial bibliographies.
Medieval Christian Literary Imagery: a Guide to Interpretation by R.E. Kaske, in collaboration with Arthur Groos and Michael W. Twomey
Call Number: Z6517 K37 1988 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
"Designed for 'the graduate student or young scholar who is interested in...interpreting medieval literature but has little or no guidance in it.'--Introd. Chapters provide bibliographical essays and suggest research methods on topics such as biblical exegesis, hymns, mythography, and major authors. Medieval encyclopedias are discussed in an appendix. Subject/medieval author, modern author/editor;/translator, manuscript, and translation indexes." (Balay).
Catalogue of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library by Barbara A. Shailor
Call Number: Z6621 B4213 1984 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
In 3 volumes, about 250 manuscripts described in each. Descriptions are formal as to contents, condition, and provenance of each. NOTE that Z6611-6621 (or so) contains similar catalogues to many other such manuscript collections.
Medieval Monasticism: a Select Bibliography by Giles Constable
Call Number: Z7839 C8 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Contains 1036 entries on the topic, including reference works, monographs, serials and articles. Some items described but none evaluated. Note that this work defines "monasticism" by withdrawal from world, therefore mendicants, military orders, and such are excluded, while hermits and anchorites are included. Assumes familiarity with principal western European languages.
Sources & Méthodes de l’Hagiographie Médiévale by Jacques Dubois, Jean-Loup Lemaitre
Call Number: Z7844 D83 1993 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
French. A handbook, by Bollandists, to medieval hagiographic study. Includes chapters on topics such as reliquaries and pilgrimage, saints' calendars, etc. Tends to favor French and Latin sources in its bibliographies, with some English, Italian, and German citations included. Discussions of historiography, method, etc.

3. Atlases & Geographical Sources

Augsburg Historical Atlas of Christianity in the Middle Ages and Reformation by Charles S. Anderson
Call Number: G1796.E4 A53 1967 Folio

2. Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by David Hugh Farmer
Call Number: BR1710 .F34 2003 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
ISBN: 019860629X
Probably the best of the English saints' dictionaries. Lists about 1,500 saints, with focus on those from or venerated in Britain. Includes brief bibliographies on each (other saints' dictionaries are more comprehensive - about 2,000-2,500 saints - but lack bibliography). Articles from c.50-350 words.
Lexikon des Mittelalters
Call Number: D101.5 L49 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
German. The standard reference work for the middle ages, in 6 volumes of about 2000 pp each. Entry on Peter Abelard is 1500 words plus a bibliography. Bibliographies tend to favor German and French sources, and avoid survey works. Very thorough.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief
Call Number: D114 D5 1982 Oversize (Trowbridge Reference Room)
English alternative to the Lexicon des Mittelalters, in 12 volumes of about 800 pp. each, plus an index volume. Major articles are upwards of 1000 words, minor articles and definitions 50-100 words. Less comprehensive than the Lexicon, but bibliographies favor English works where possible and includes survey works.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by edited by Andre Vauchez
Call Number: D114 E54 2000 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Encyclopedia of the Crusades by Alfred J. Andrea
Call Number: D155 .A6X 2003 (Trowbridge Reference Room)

4. Library of Congress Subject Headings

Christian Biography

Christian Hagiography

Christian Life

Christian Pilgrims and Pilgrimages

Christian Saints

Christian Sects, Medieval

Church History

Civilization, Medieval

Liturgics

Middle Ages

Monasticism and Religious Orders (One may also search by the name of the order as well)

Most of these headings can be searched more specifically with the subheadings:

--history

--history--middle ages, 600-1500

--middle ages, 600-1500

Also, the subheading: "--History of Doctrines--middle ages, 600-1500" can be used for most theological topics (e.g.: "Salvation--history of doctrines--middle ages, 600-1500"). In addition, many related fields will have a heading specific to the middle ages, such as "Architecture, medieval."

Depending on one's area of research, it is also often possible to access information through a geographical subject heading (name of region/country--church history), or through the name of an individual in whom one is interested, or the name of a denomination or sect. For the latter, "Catholic Church" is used in LCSH as a pattern heading; that is, all subheadings that are widely used for religions and religious organizations are to be found under the Catholic Church heading. Additional subheadings that are specific to a religious group may be found under that group's own heading.

History of Christianity Guide: Medieval
Christianity

1. Research Guides & Bibliographies

3. Atlases & Geographical Sources

2. Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

4. Library of Congress Subject Headings

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries