It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.
This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. "Castro Speech" is a database containing the full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency responsible for monitoring broadcast and print media in countries throughout the world. These records are in the public domain. All texts are in English.
El Repositorio Digital de CLACSO ofrece acceso libre y gratuito a producción de los 324 Centros Miembros de CLACSO en 25 países de América Latina y el Caribe. Es un servicio de CLACSO con la participación del los grupos publicaciones, biblioteca y multimedia de los Centros Miembros de CLACSO. Actualmente, pueden acceder a más de 30.000 textos completos de artículos, documentos de trabajo, libros y ponencias publicados por la red CLACSO.
The Colonial State Papers provide access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789, which are found under the Translations menu. Alongside the French original, each translation is presented with a brief historical introduction to situate the reader in the time period and help understand how this particular pamphlet fits into the episode. Each document has been reviewed by one of the scholars on our Board of Advisors. These pamphlets are primarily drawn from the University of Maryland’s Special Collections, although related items available at other institutions have been included as well. Please see our Worldcat list if you are interested in the physical items.
Documents relating the British Foreign Office's intimate involvement in the region's history. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the documents in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Primary-source collection of fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etcetera, collected from 1959 onward. Together they document the activities of the institution both in Cuba and beyond, bearing testimony to the conflicts and passions of a turbulent time. Conferences and controversies, manifestos and open letters combine to shed a light on a vibrant cultural history, which is now accessible for the first time from new and unexpected angles.
Primary-source collection from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana documenting the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. This section includes artists and the international avant-garde as well as famous and little-known authors. A large portion of the collection consists of press clippings and ephemeral documentation.
Selected archival and manuscript materials, books, and periodicals held by the Cuban Heritage Collection have been digitized and are available online through the University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections portal.
The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive appraisal of global news every week. Because of its global perspective and economic and political analysis, it is highly regarded and heavily relied on by the world's political and business leaders, opinion formers and decisionmakers.
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas. It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
The Electronic Enlightenment offers access to the correspondence of over 6000 18th century individuals. Over 53,000 letters and documents from the best critical editions are presented in their original languages; the scholarly annotations are cross searchable. In addition EE presents over 80,000 document sources including both manuscripts and early editions.
Empire Online provides access to images of original documents with introductory essays and combined indexing to all five sections. Bringing together images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world, Empire Online enables researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Published in five thematic sections, Empire Online is fully searchable and offers thematic essays by leading scholars.
This collection highlights the FBI's efforts to disrupt the activities of the largest of the Puerto Rican independence parties, Partido Independentista Puertorriqueǫ, and compromise their effectiveness. In addition, these documents provide an insightful documentary history and analysis of why independence was the second-largest political movement in the island, (after support for commonwealth status), and a real alternative. These documents provide invaluable additions to the recorded history of Puerto Rico.
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the Spanish-American War, including manuscripts, maps, broadsides, photographs, prints, sheet music, and films. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the Spanish-American War that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the Spanish-American War.
"Eras in the History of the Caribbean" contains Colonial Trade and Plantation System, International Conflicts and Slave Rebellions, Revolutions and Nation Building (Haiti), End of Slavery and Decline of European Dominance.
Included are approx. 5000 documents dated between 1840s to the 1890s, many of which are from the Arecibo civil (corte de primera instancia) court districts, covering the full range of cases that might have been brought to civil courts in those times mainly disputes over economic holdings such as land disputes, sale of slaves, and similar materials. The collection includes court cases from the towns of Arecibo, Barceloneta, Camuy, Ciales, Hatillo, Manati, Morovis, Quebradillas, and Utuado.
Originally microfilmed as JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, this collection provides insights into President Kennedy’s views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba. There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
This collection of more than 5,000 titles contains main scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. One of the few institutions to have consistently collected Latin American pamphlets, Harvard has benefited from collections formed by Luis Montt (Chile), Nicolás Acosta (Bolivia), Manuel Segundo Sánchez (Venezuela), José Augusto Escoto (Cuba), Blas Garay (Paraguay), Charles Sumner, John B. Stetson and others. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.
Making of the modern world provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
El Portal Manuscritos de América en las Colecciones Reales nace de la colaboración entre la Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes y la Real Biblioteca de Patrimonio Nacional. Este proyecto se constituye con un doble objetivo: postularse, en primer lugar, como una nueva herramienta en la investigación de los fondos bibliográficos sobre América Latina que posee el Patrimonio Nacional (Real Biblioteca y Biblioteca del Real Monasterio de El Escorial); en segundo lugar, permitir el acceso a todo este corpus de una manera unificada, posibilitando así la reconstrucción virtual de la antigua colección de Manuscritos de América, con la incorporación al proyecto de los fondos de los Colegios Mayores Salmantinos, devueltos en 1954 a la Biblioteca General de la Universidad de Salamanca.
A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archivo de las Indias and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.
The Archives of the Presbyterian Church of Cuba presents the records of the Iglesia Presbiteriana-Reformada en Cuba (IPRC) and predecessor Presbyterian churches and missions in Cuba, covering a total of 13 different congregations from the early 1900s through the 2010s. The collection spans a rich array of material, such as session minutes, membership, baptism, marriage and death records, photos, and minutes of men’s, women’s and youth groups. It also contains a complete run of the IPRC church’s newsletter Heraldo Cristiano (1919 – 2010), as well as the periodicals Juprecu and Su Voz, early mission records originally maintained in English and then Spanish as the Cuban congregations took over management of their churches and schools.
This database offers the digitized archives of the Royal Geographical Society covering the British Empire from approximately 1478-1953. The collection covers the history of geography, environmental history, exploration, colonization and decolonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and environmental history. The content contains a range of primary sources, including manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data, and ephemera presented as digital images.
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, etc.
This presentation features 68 motion pictures produced between 1898 and 1901 of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution. The Spanish-American War was the first U.S. war in which the motion picture camera played a role. These films were made by the Edison Manufacturing Company and the American Mutoscope & Biograph Company and consist of actualities filmed in the U.S., Cuba, and the Philippines, showing troops, ships, notable figures, and parades, as well as reenactments of battles and other war-time events. The Special Presentation presents the motion pictures in chronological order together with brief essays that provide a historical context for their filming.
Library of Congress and UNESCO offers cultural treasures and significant historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films
The collection consists of correspondence, writings, official reports, subject files, printed materials, and personal papers documenting the life and political career of La Revellière-Lépeaux, particularly during the period of the First Republic (1792-1804).
The papers contain legal documents, correspondence, and miscellaneous papers primarily concerned with Gaston-François-Christophe de Lʹevis, duc de Ventadour (1794-1863). The papers, in French, primarily relate to inheritance of land in Martinique.
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources Portal
This site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The sources linked below range from collections of Mexican incunabula (1559-1600), to Latin American posters. The site is organized by format “Historical Texts by Country“, “Historical Texts General“, “Statistics“, “Visual Material by Country“, “Visual Material General“, and “Miscellaneous.”