It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
An A - Z list of legal research databases that includes domestic, foreign, and international resources. Please note that some of these databases are restricted to law school users.
Partial Collections List: Notable Legal Cases
Legal researchers are often interested in the historical and political development of particular legal cases. Most of this information can be obtained through traditional legal research, but archival research often provides valuable supplementary insights. Attorneys' and litigants' personal papers are especially valuable for learning more about the context of some litigation. The list below is meant to give you a sense of the type of cases and other legal proceedings that you may explore at Manuscripts and Archives. If the material that you are seeking does not appear below, it may be best to contact the Manuscripts and Archives Reference Desk or the Lillian Goldman Law Library's Reference Desk for more information.
James Bell was a correspondent (1942-1948) and White House correspondent (1948-1950) for Time, Inc. These papers consist of a typed manuscript, "The Trials of Alger Hiss," as reported by him. The contents include Trial I (June 1, 1949-July 8, 1949) and Trial II (November 22, 1949-January 25, 1950).
The papers consist of correspondence, legal papers, diaries, estate records, account books, notebooks, deeds, and miscellanea of the Alsop family of Middletown, Connecticut. Of particular interest are the extensive papers on the Alsop Claim Case (1865-1914), a complicated international law case involving the Alsops' claim against the Bolivian government for monies owed.
These papers consist of correspondence, diaries, legal documents, speeches, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document the career of Arthur Liman. They include a small amount of material concerning his representation of New York State during the investigation of the Attica Prison Uprising of 1971.
These papers consist of photocopies of correspondence, memoranda, clippings, printed material, transcripts of telephone conversations, and other declassified material from the national headquarters and New Haven, Connecticut office of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, pertaining to the New Haven Chapter of the Black Panther Party.
These papers contain materials for a suit in which Harper represented Lyman R. Bradley's claim against New York University for back pay. Bradley, a teacher at Washington Square College, was suspended when he received a jail sentence for contempt in connection with accusations of "un-American activities." The legal papers and materials indicate that Harper's claim on behalf of Bradley was that the suspension was invalid, since it was for reasons unrelated to Bradley's professional abilities.
Interview notes, correspondence, clippings, copies of court transcripts and briefs assembled by Richard Kluger for his book, Simple Justice: Brown vs. Board of Education. Kluger's interview notes, taken either in person or by mail, with over one hundred people make up the core of the collection.
The papers consist of correspondence, legal documents, hospital records, and publicity materials concerning Donaldson v. O'Connor, a 1975 U.S. Supreme Court case considered to be a landmark mental health decision. They document Kenneth Donaldson's years as a patient at the Florida State Hospital, his efforts to obtain his release from the hospital, the media coverage of him after his release, his victory in the Supreme Court.
A substantial portion of the materials (1946-1953) consists of legal papers and newspaper clippings pertaining to Harper's own libel suit against several Hearst newspapers for their coverage of an investigation of Harper's loyalty in 1946 (Harper v. Hearst Consolidated Publications). The investigation was provoked when Harper signed a petition asking that the Communist Party be given a place on a 1947 Indiana election ballot.
These papers consist of correspondence, diaries, legal documents, speeches, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document the career of Arthur Liman, a prominent lawyer of his time. The papers emphasize the 1987 Iran-Contra hearings.
Tyler Kent, a code clerk at the American embassy in London, was tried in 1940 by the British government for violation of the Official Secrets Act. The papers, assembled by Charles Parsons, include correspondence, a transcript of the British trial, newspaper clippings, photographs, notes, legal papers related to Kent v. United States and printed matter.
ACLU records of attorneys' document preparation for the retrial of Krause v. Rhodes in 1978. Because the retrial was the culmination of a long, difficult legal battle for accountability in the deaths of four students and the injury of nine others, the collection includes not only materials assembled specifically for the 1978 trial, but also materials gathered for previous related lawsuits. See also the Kent State Collection at MS 804.
These papers pertain to a lawsuit brought in 1951 by chiefs of the Seneca Nation living on the Tonawanda Indian Reservation in New York State to remove Mrs. Carrie Blueye from the reservation as an intruder, since her mother was Tuscarora and not Seneca. They are the papers of William H. Coon, a retired attorney and former district attorney of Genesee County. Coon was acting as an adviser to the current district attorney, Wallace J. Stakel, who was the prosecuting attorney in the case.
These papers consist of correspondence, diaries, legal documents, speeches, writings, printed material, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document the career of Arthur Liman. The material includes documents relating to his representation of financier Michael Milken.
This collection includes materials of Fowler V. Harper's representation of Dr. J.P. Peters of the Yale Medical School in a loyalty investigation ordered by the Loyalty Review Board of the Civil Service Commission. Correspondence, clippings and accounts indicate that active support and monetary contributions were given by numerous individuals to Harper's representation of Peters. Copies of legal arguments, proceedings, and memoranda for the hearing reveal the procedures followed in these cases.