Sources spanning four centuries and covering North and Central American Indian history and culture. Material in this database comes from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Includes Manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books); Artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art); American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s; Rare Printed Books; Photographs; Maps. Cross-searchable with the Adam Matthew database "American West."

Includes "American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971," a collection of thirty-six digitized archival collections mostly from the National Archives, including collections from Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (https://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/075.html), and from Record Group 393 (https://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/393.html).

More generally, the ProQuest History Vault provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) collection on topics related to 19th and 20th-century U.S. history. Collections are organized into the following modules:
- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
- Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
- American Indians and the American West
- American Politics and Society
- International Relations and Military Conflicts

ndigenous peoples, North America traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos.