It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Various papers relating to American history collected by Bernhard Knollenberg (1892-1973), Yale University Librarian and author. The collection includes a letter from Henry Knox to Mr bingham concerning military campaigns in Georgia (1796); a letter from Silas Minsmoor (Indian Agent) to David Henley, War Department Agent, concerning Indian-White relations (1797); and a letter from Thomas Crawford to John Wyse concerning Indian affairs (1843).
The papers detail the personal lives and professional careers of several generations and family lines of the Baldwin family. The legal, political, and business activities of family members in Connecticut, New York, and elsewhere are documented.Included in the papers of Simeon E. Baldwin (1840-1927) is a letter from Charles C. Painter concerning a committee appointed by the National Council of Congregational Churches to consider Indian education, 1884 Jan 16.
General in the Michigan militia. Correspondence, military orders and documents, and a marriage certificate. Most of the papers relate to the Black Hawk War of 1832 waged between the United States and the Fox and the Sauk Indians. The correspondence describes the war in Michigan and Illinois and a council with the Potawatomi Indians who were allies of the militia. There were also letters on contemporary politics and the Toledo War (1835) in which Brown participated.
(1631-1987) In addition to extensive correspondence between Johnson family members, the papers contain material relating to Connecticut and New York politics in the colonial and Revolutionary War periods, and religion, land development, and Indian affairs in the nineteenth century. Additions to the papers include family correspondence, sketchbooks of Katharine Livingston Bayard Johnson, and a diary and account books of Sarah Dwight Woolsey Johnson.
The papers consist of miscellaneous personal papers of Edward Parmelee Smith including letters to his future wife (1851-1854) and letters to his daughter (1872-1873) with an account of a sea voyage to California and his impressions once there. From 1871-73, Smith served as Indian Agent to the Chippewa Agency in Minnesota; from 1871-1873 he was US Commissioner of Indian Affairs; in 1875 he was elected president of Howard University.
Correspondence, financial records, and memorabilia of this Stamford, Connecticut family. The principal figure is David Waterbury (1722-1801), who served as a colonel in the French and Indian War and again in the American Revolution. Included in the papers are military records relating to these events and a letter to him from Roger Sherman (1776 Apr 30) about a Continental Commission.
The papers of Hugh Aiken Bayne (1870-1954), a lawyer from Louisiana, include, in Volume I of his memoirs and as a separate typescript, documentation on the submission of the Creek Indians in Alabama. Also included are relations concerning the experiences of his grandfather and great-grandfather in dealing with Indians.
The most important part of the Thomas Hartley Crawford Papers relate to Crawford's work on a presidential commission investigating land fraud in connection with the 1832 treaty with the Creek Indians. There are also legal opinions, reports, financial records and correspondence with members of Congress which reflect his work as Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1836-1845, and as a judge in Washington, D.C., 1845-1861. Among his correspondents are Dixon H. Lewis, C. C. Clay, and William Mitchell.
The papers consist of correspondence, writings, legal and financial material, congressional papers, family memorabilia, and other papers of various members of the Evarts family of Vermont, Boston, and New York. The papers of Jeremiah Evarts relate to his work and writings on Congregational orthodoxy, his travels for the American Board of Foreign Missions, and his efforts on behalf of American Indians. Another topic in his papers is the controversy over the Cherokee and Choctaw lands.
The papers consist of the research files of Ulrich Bonnell Phillips, an author and history professor. Included are Phillips's notes and transcripts of Albert James Pickkett (1810-58), author of an early history of Alabama, with accounts of wars and relations with the Creek Indians, and notes on the early history of Georgia. The collected papers include correspondence, account books, business records, farm and plantation records, diaries, photographs, and other papers.
The papers consist of eleven volumes of a journal kept by Wright from his first years at Yale College in 1828. While there he reports on a lecture by Elias Boudinot on behalf of the Cherokee nation and various temperance and abolition activities. The journals are chiefly devoted to religious meditations and describe the various revival movements of his era and his evangelical work with black residents of New Haven.
Webb's military service at Fort Pickens, Florida, especially during the Third Seminole War, 1856; as a member of the Army of the Potomac, and with General George Meade during the Civil War is documented, as is his tenure as president of the College of the City of New York. Webb wrote over thirty letters to his wife describing the hardships of swamp warfare and the difficulty of searching out Indians when debilitated by the tropical climate, disease, and fleas.
The collection consists of papers concerning Elias Boudinot, an Indian whose original name was Galagina, or Buck Oowatie, and who became editor of the "Cherokee Phoenix", New Echota, Cherokee Nation. Early correspondence relates chiefly to Boudinot's marriage to Harriet Gold, and the Gold family controversy over intermarriage with an Indian. Other correspondence relates to the dispute between the Cherokee Nation and the state of Georgia, the Supreme Court decision of 1832, and President Jackson.
Brewer participated in several survey and exploring expeditions in the West. The collection includes a large group of California letters (1860-64), five notebooks written on a Rocky Mountain Trip in 1869, and documentation on missionary labor among the Indians of California. There is also correspondence with Sequoyah, or George Guess, inventor of the Cherokee syllabary and codifier of the Cherokee language.
Beecher Family Papers.
A partial list of the Indian correspondents with tribal identification is in the register, including William Jones, the Indian ethnologist, and Susan Picotte, a physician. There are also letters documenting Scoville's assignment as a special agent of the commissioner of Indian Affairs and her work for National Indian Association. Scoville directed Indian scools for the Dakota, Omaha, and Winnebago Indians and compiled extensive photographs for her lectures.
Henry Beebee Carrington (1824-1912) and his grandfather, David Lewis Beebe (1763-1803), are two central figures in the papers. Carrington's role in military campaigns and treaty negotiations with Indians of the American West is also documented. His design of Fort Philip Kearney, the site of a famous massacre, and treaty negotiations with the Flathead Indians of Montana are detailed in pamphlets, scrapbooks and other papers.
Vols. 62-63 detail the Menominee Indian case, 1908-1956, which covers the history of Federal management of timberlands of the Menomenee Indians of Wisconsin. Vols 79A and 79B discuss the Chippewa National Forest, 1881-1945, which includes the history of Indians in Minnesota and logging operations carried out by the Interior Department in the Cut Foot Sioux District.
The papers consist of several letters and two journals of Henry Ellsworth's travels to New Connecticut (1811) and to the West (1832) after his appointment as Commissioner to the Indians. In this capacity, he was to superintend the removal of Indian tribes to the south and west of Arkansas, and his journal of 1832 describes the life of the Indians in eastern Oklahoma.
Grinnell corresponded with many Indian leaders, and individuals and organizations involved with Indian affairs, and became an authority on the Blackfeet, Ceyennes, and Pawnees. Presidents Cleveland and Theodore Roosevelt appointed Grinnell to negotiate with Indian tribes. In addition to his letterbooks for the period 1886-1929 are five folders filed under the heading "Indians."
The papers consist of correspondence, diaries, notebooks, school notes, and other papers of O.C. Marsh, scientist and first professor of paleontology at Yale and in the United States.His 1870 Yale Scientific Expedition to Nebraska, Colorado, Wyoming, and California put him into contact with numerous Indians. Series VII, boxes 51-54 (microfilm reels 26-28), Red Cloud Agency, relates to Marsh's efforts to reform the treatment of the Oglala Sioux by agents of the Indian Commission.
For many years, the Roes labored to improve Indian rights to land and education and travelled often to Washington, D.C. to promote Indian causes and Indian special interest groups. While lecturing at Yale in 1906, Mary Roe met henry Cloud, a Winnebago Indian, whom the Roes adopted; Cloud graduated from yale and married Elizabeth Bender, a Chippewa. Related material can be found in the Page and Wickham Family Papers.
Includes papers of Elizabeth Merwin Roe Page (1861-1943), Alfred Cox and Emma Wickham Roe and sister of daughter of Mary Wickham Roe, relating to her missionary activities on behalf of American indians. From about 1903 to 1913 she served as Field Secretary for the Women's Board of Domestic Missions of the Reformed Church in America, and was ithe author of In Camp and Tepee (1915) which describes its work. There is an important file of letters for the period 1900-1916.
Correspondence, literary notes, clippings, photographs, and an album of poems and drawings on Edinburgh compiled (1898-1899) by Cecil Piatt. The correspondence consists mainly of letters to John Bear Piatt from family members on the frontier in Montana, Dakota territory, and Kansas. Included are descriptions of pioneer life and various Indian tribes.
Included are John Maley's narrative account of three expeditions from Natchitoches up the REd River, 1811-1813, to trade with Indians; Maley describes the customs of the Kashotoos, Hietans, Pawnees, and other tribes, and their relations with the Spanish in Texas. Also included is Anthony Glass's copy of a journal of a voyage from Nackitosh into the interior of Louisiana on the Red River, 1808-1809, with a license to trade with the Pawnee and Hietan Indians. He describes the customs of Indians.
The major figure in these papers is Joseph Monfort Street, who was an Indian agent in Iowa in the 1820s and 1830s.Joseph M. Street's experiences on the frontier are documented in letters and financial records. Also in the papers are writings by Ida M. Street, William B. Street, and others on Indian affairs in the Iowa territory (1899-1901) and a day book (1795-1802) He commanded the expedition during which General Custer was killed, and in 1877 attempted to negotiate with Sitting Bull.
The papers contain correspondence, family papers, diaries, sermons, photoprints, and other materials documenting the personal lives and professional careers of Joseph Dresser Wickham, Elizabeth Cooke Merwin Wickham and several Wickham, Merwin, Porter, and Roe relatives. Emma Wickham Roe, Alfred Cox Roe, Mary Wickham and Walter Clark Roe lived on the Indian Mission in Colony, Oklahoma. Emma Roe's letters describe life and conditions at the mission.
Photographs, writings, clippings, and other material related to Wildschut's study of North American Indians. Includes 64 photographs, most of them portraits of Native Americans, primarily Crow Indians, including Plenty Coups and Two Leggings. Other photographs are of encampments, ceremonies, medicine bundles and other objects, the grave of Two Leggings, cavalrymen at the monument at Little Bighorn, and Wildschut handing Marshal Ferdinand Foch a portrait of Plenty Coups.
For many years, Prudden spent his summers in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Arizona, exploring and mapping sites of Indian dwellings. There are eleven folders of anthropological correspondence, 1896-1924, mainly with his guides, the Wetherill brothers. They were also archaeologists, and Richard Wetherill (1858-1910) discovered the Mesa Verde ruins in Colorado and named the "basket-maker" culture. He was murdered by a Navajo Indian. Prudden was the author of several papers and a book on Indians.
Letters, including several from or pertaining to Stephen F. Austin, official correspondence and documents, degrees, expedientes and reports,recording the history and development of Mexico's northeastern frontier from 1707-1847. Most of the collection concerns Texas, but there are also important documents concerning Louisiana and New Mexico.
The papers contain journals, notebooks, drawings and maps, documents and correspondence which document the activities of Edward and Richard Kern in the West and the Pacific from 1845-1860. A journal and a notebook document Edward Kern's participation in Fremont's third expedition to California; and a journal, a logbook, drawings, two maps and a letter document Edward's participation in the Northern Pacific Exploring Expedition in 1853-1856.
Papers consist of diaries, correspondence, writings, printed works, photographs, maps, and other materials that document William Downie's life, interest, and travels in the Northwest, particularly during the 1850s and 1860s. The papers offer evidence of early exploration and mining operations in British Columbia, particularly in the Quesnel Forks area by the Quesnelle Mining Company. Downie's interest and encounters with indigenous inhabitants are recorded.
Subjects include the Grand, Glen, and Havasu Canyons, the Colorado and Green Rivers, Zion National Park, miscellaneous photographs of Arizona, California Colorado, and Utah, and portraits of expedition members and Native Americans. There are 24 drawings by Dellenbaugh which were used as illustrations in Romance of the Colorado and Breaking the West.