The Yale Indian Papers Project’s efforts will culminate in a searchable electronic document collection known as the New England Indian Papers Series. The Series will consist of various manuscript materials from Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts and parts of Eastern New York and Long Island. The first set of records to be published will consist of documents relating to Connecticut’s Native people.

An artificial collection of correspondence, writings, photographs, and miscellanea relating to American Indians, including the Mohegan Indians of Connecticut, 1740-1750. Other items include an Iroquois language dictionary and essays such as "Geronimo and His Band in Exile," by Marion E. Stephens, "The Indian River Village Site, Milford, Connecticut," and a narrative on Joseph Morgan Wilcox.

Collection consists of black and white glass lantern slides of the arts of African, Native American, and Pacific Rim cultures, including Australia and New Zealand, as well as Afro-Brazilian, Afro-Cuban, Afro-Haitian, Afro-Mexican, Afro-Portuguese, Afro-Surinam, and Afro-American arts.

Collection consists of color and black and white 35 mm slides of the arts of African, Native American, and Pacific Rim cultures, including Australia and New Zealand, as well as Afro-Brazilian, Afro-cuban, Afro-Haitian, Afro-Mexican, Afro-Portuguese, Afro-Surinam, and Afro-American arts.

The papers document Felix S. Cohen's professional career as a civil servant, private attorney, law professor, and author. From 1933-57, Cohen drafted legislation for the Department of Interior, most notably the Wheeler-Howard Indian Reorganization Act of 1934. In 1939 he headed the Indian Law Survey, which compiled all federal laws regarding Native Americans. He edited the summary of that survey, known as The Handbook of Federal Indian Law.

The papers consist of correspondence, subject files, writings, memoranda and reports, research materials, and miscellanea, documenting the personal life and professional career of John Collier. His service with the American Indian Defense Association (A.I.D.A.), as United States Commissioner of Indian Affairs, and as a teacher and author is detailed. Correspondence files include materials with leading political, literary, and social figures.

Correspondence, writings, audio and moving image recordings, photographic materials, subject files, printed ephemera, art work, and other materials created or collected by Richard Erdoes (1912-2008), author of more than a dozen books about American Indian life.

Various papers relating to American history collected by Bernhard Knollenberg (1892-1973), Yale University Librarian and author. The collection includes a letter from Henry Knox to Mr bingham concerning military campaigns in Georgia (1796); a letter from Silas Minsmoor (Indian Agent) to David Henley, War Department Agent, concerning Indian-White relations (1797); and a letter from Thomas Crawford to John Wyse concerning Indian affairs (1843).

The papers consist of correspondence, articles, reports, notes, lectures, memorabilia, and other papers of Charles Templeman Loram, educator and professor of education in South Africa and at Yale. He was a participant in seminars and conferences on the American Indian and Pacific Islanders, and there is a group of papers of the Boulder Seminar (1937) on American Indians. Included are papers on the Navajos, Hawaiians, and Indian missions.

The Luhan papers consist of correspondence, writings, photographs, scrapbooks and personal papers documenting the life and work of Mabel Dodge Luhan.Series I, Correspondence, consists chiefly of incoming letters from family, friends, fans and publishers. Luhan's activities and relationships in New York and New Mexico, with artists, writers, labor leaders and Native American Indians, are well documented.

Chiefly Native American vocabularies in French and Spanish, most of which were created or transcribed by Alponse Louis Pinart. Also includes a few vocabularies for West African languages.

Correspondence, writings and a few essays by others on ecology, Indians, and Darwinism. The main portion of the correspondence (1943-1958) is with John Collier on the subject of Shepard's last book, The Living Whole. His writings reflect interests in the environment and related scientific subjects, and the papers include both published and unpublished works, some of which relate to American Indians.

A collection of United States postage stamps compiled by Meade and Mildred B. Minnigerode on the topic of pioneer life in the United States. Included are stamps illustrating Indians of the Colonial Period, the French and Indian War, and the Western Pioneer Period.

The collection consists of eight videotaped recordings of Native American alumni of Yale University, recorded in November 2005 and November 2008, as well as paperwork documenting the project and its purpose. Interview subjects are asked to reflect on their student experiences at Yale University. Questions explore the interview subject's tribal background, experiences at Yale, college activities, perceptions of the University, and present employment.

Collection of approximately 570 Western filmscripts, consisting of continuity, cutting and dialogue, shooting scripts, various drafts from initial to final, and in some cases revised versions of the same draft. There are fifteen Tom Mix silent scenarios from 1919 through 1927; four scripts by Zane Grey, including Riders of the Purple Sage (1931); eleven scripts directed by John Ford, including My Darling Clementine (1946), Stagecoach (1938), Fort Apache (1947); five films featuring Gary Cooper.

The James Welch Papers contain manuscripts, correspondence, and personal papers documenting the life and work of author James Welch. James Welch is well known for his fiction dealing with the histories and experiences of Native Americans, and the drafts of manuscripts, for novels and other works, together with correspondence and secondary literature, make the Welch papers a valuable resource for research in literary, American, and Native American studies.

The papers detail the personal lives and professional careers of several generations and family lines of the Baldwin family. The legal, political, and business activities of family members in Connecticut, New York, and elsewhere are documented.Included in the papers of Simeon E. Baldwin (1840-1927) is a letter from Charles C. Painter concerning a committee appointed by the National Council of Congregational Churches to consider Indian education, 1884 Jan 16.

General in the Michigan militia. Correspondence, military orders and documents, and a marriage certificate. Most of the papers relate to the Black Hawk War of 1832 waged between the United States and the Fox and the Sauk Indians. The correspondence describes the war in Michigan and Illinois and a council with the Potawatomi Indians who were allies of the militia. There were also letters on contemporary politics and the Toledo War (1835) in which Brown participated.

Trustee of the Village of Batavia, N.Y., 1902-1903; Justice of the Peace of the Town of Batavia, 1904-1907; District Attorney of the County of Genesee, N.Y.,1908-1916; City historian of the City of Batavia, 1919-); City attorney of the City of Batavia; New York State Attorney for the Tonawanda Nation of the Seneca Indians, 1908-1916 and 1928-1939.

An artificial collection of diaries relating to Connecticut and other states and regions in the United States. Topics including farming, religion, military life, student life, travel, and the weather are documented. Included in Vol. 30 is the copy of a diary of an ensign in the French and Indian Wars, 1759-62 in Crown Ponit, New York. The original is in the library at Cornwall, CT.

The papers consist primarily of sermons preached by Justus Forward between 1754 and 1813. Also included are correspondence, largely on church matters, other church papers, a notebook kept by Forward while at Yale College (1752-1753), and nine diaries (1759-1814) mostly with brief entries. There is one description of the military developments in the French-Indian War for the month of July, 1759. Of particular interest in the correspondence is an exchange with Dr. Martin Phelps.

(1631-1987) In addition to extensive correspondence between Johnson family members, the papers contain material relating to Connecticut and New York politics in the colonial and Revolutionary War periods, and religion, land development, and Indian affairs in the nineteenth century. Additions to the papers include family correspondence, sketchbooks of Katharine Livingston Bayard Johnson, and a diary and account books of Sarah Dwight Woolsey Johnson.

The colletion is composed of papers relating to the British presence in North America during the French and Indian War and consists of correspondence and reports describing military actions, royal decrees, lists of supplies and armaments, and other items of a similar nature. The first part of the collection contains typewritten transcripts of the papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765), copied from originals in the Royal Library at Windsor Castle.

Correspondence, Pond and Norton family deeds, and financial papers of the Pond family of Connecticut together with records pertaining to the town of Wolcott. The papers also contain a partial autobiography of Peter Pond (1740-1807) describing his experiences in the French and Indian War and as a fur trader in the northwest.

The papers document three generations of the Woolsey family. Included are five letters from Melancthon Taylor Woolsey (1720-58) to Benjamin Woolsey concerning the fighting and living conditions in the French and Indian War as Colonel of the 2nd Battalion, 1758.

The papers consist of miscellaneous personal papers of Edward Parmelee Smith including letters to his future wife (1851-1854) and letters to his daughter (1872-1873) with an account of a sea voyage to California and his impressions once there. From 1871-73, Smith served as Indian Agent to the Chippewa Agency in Minnesota; from 1871-1873 he was US Commissioner of Indian Affairs; in 1875 he was elected president of Howard University.

Correspondence, legal papers, financial papers, and business records of the Townsend and Atwater families of New Haven, Conn. Included are business record books detailing commerce with Indians.

The papers consist of correspondence, writings, notes and other papers pertaining to Connecticut and New England history and American Indians. Included are papers on Indian languages, Indian place-names, and Indian schooling.

Correspondence, financial records, and memorabilia of this Stamford, Connecticut family. The principal figure is David Waterbury (1722-1801), who served as a colonel in the French and Indian War and again in the American Revolution. Included in the papers are military records relating to these events and a letter to him from Roger Sherman (1776 Apr 30) about a Continental Commission.

The Webb papers consist of letterbooks, correspondence, journals, notebooks, orderly books, papers, and military records documenting the personal life and military career of Samuel Blachley Webb, who served in the American Revolutionary forces under Israel Putnam and George Washington. Included is an orderly book relating to the French and Indian War. Notable correspondents include: Joseph Barrell, Silas Deane, Nathanael Greene, Alexander Hamilton, Robert Morris, Samuel Otis, Timothy Pickering.

The papers consist of family correspondence of the Whiting family as well as the personal correspondence of Nathan Whiting, military and legal documents and miscellaneous family papers. Whiting was appointed Lieutenant-Colonel of the 2nd Connecticut Regiment in the French and Indian war; in 1756 he was promoted to Colonel and continued in service throughout the war.

The papers of Hugh Aiken Bayne (1870-1954), a lawyer from Louisiana, include, in Volume I of his memoirs and as a separate typescript, documentation on the submission of the Creek Indians in Alabama. Also included are relations concerning the experiences of his grandfather and great-grandfather in dealing with Indians.

The most important part of the Thomas Hartley Crawford Papers relate to Crawford's work on a presidential commission investigating land fraud in connection with the 1832 treaty with the Creek Indians. There are also legal opinions, reports, financial records and correspondence with members of Congress which reflect his work as Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1836-1845, and as a judge in Washington, D.C., 1845-1861. Among his correspondents are Dixon H. Lewis, C. C. Clay, and William Mitchell.

The papers consist of correspondence, writings, legal and financial material, congressional papers, family memorabilia, and other papers of various members of the Evarts family of Vermont, Boston, and New York. The papers of Jeremiah Evarts relate to his work and writings on Congregational orthodoxy, his travels for the American Board of Foreign Missions, and his efforts on behalf of American Indians. Another topic in his papers is the controversy over the Cherokee and Choctaw lands.

Correspondence and legal and financial papers reflecting Pendleton's service in the Revolutionary Army as aide-de-camp to General Nathanael Greene, and his close connection with Alexander Hamilton. The correspondence includes letters from Samuel Finley, Mrs. Nathanael Greene, Alexander von Humboldt and Otho Holland Williams. Legal and financial papers as well as correspondence of Alexander Hamilton are also included since Pendleton was executor of his estate.

The papers consist of the research files of Ulrich Bonnell Phillips, an author and history professor. Included are Phillips's notes and transcripts of Albert James Pickkett (1810-58), author of an early history of Alabama, with accounts of wars and relations with the Creek Indians, and notes on the early history of Georgia. The collected papers include correspondence, account books, business records, farm and plantation records, diaries, photographs, and other papers.

Webb's military service at Fort Pickens, Florida, especially during the Third Seminole War, 1856; as a member of the Army of the Potomac, and with General George Meade during the Civil War is documented, as is his tenure as president of the College of the City of New York. Webb wrote over thirty letters to his wife describing the hardships of swamp warfare and the difficulty of searching out Indians when debilitated by the tropical climate, disease, and fleas.

The papers consist of eleven volumes of a journal kept by Wright from his first years at Yale College in 1828. While there he reports on a lecture by Elias Boudinot on behalf of the Cherokee nation and various temperance and abolition activities. The journals are chiefly devoted to religious meditations and describe the various revival movements of his era and his evangelical work with black residents of New Haven.

The collection consists of papers concerning Elias Boudinot, an Indian whose original name was Galagina, or Buck Oowatie, and who became editor of the "Cherokee Phoenix", New Echota, Cherokee Nation. Early correspondence relates chiefly to Boudinot's marriage to Harriet Gold, and the Gold family controversy over intermarriage with an Indian. Other correspondence relates to the dispute between the Cherokee Nation and the state of Georgia, the Supreme Court decision of 1832, and President Jackson.

Brewer participated in several survey and exploring expeditions in the West. The collection includes a large group of California letters (1860-64), five notebooks written on a Rocky Mountain Trip in 1869, and documentation on missionary labor among the Indians of California. There is also correspondence with Sequoyah, or George Guess, inventor of the Cherokee syllabary and codifier of the Cherokee language.

Contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

Brown commanded a company of Lexington riflemen in a war agains the Wabash Indians in 1791. Correspondence between Brown and his brother Samuel provides documentation on Indian-White relations during the period of Western settlement after the American Revolution, and includes accounts of Indian wars, raids, and the desperate position of the native population to retain ther lands in the Mid-West and South.

A partial list of the Indian correspondents with tribal identification is in the register, including William Jones, the Indian ethnologist, and Susan Picotte, a physician. There are also letters documenting Scoville's assignment as a special agent of the commissioner of Indian Affairs and her work for National Indian Association. Scoville directed Indian scools for the Dakota, Omaha, and Winnebago Indians and compiled extensive photographs for her lectures.

Correspondence, writings, and notebooks entirely related to his professional interest in languages and linguistics. Bloomfield was a professor of linguistics at the University of Chicago and Yale. Included are several notebooks on the phonology and morphology of American Indian languages, including Ojibwa and Potawatomi.

Henry Beebee Carrington (1824-1912) and his grandfather, David Lewis Beebe (1763-1803), are two central figures in the papers. Carrington's role in military campaigns and treaty negotiations with Indians of the American West is also documented. His design of Fort Philip Kearney, the site of a famous massacre, and treaty negotiations with the Flathead Indians of Montana are detailed in pamphlets, scrapbooks and other papers.

Vols. 62-63 detail the Menominee Indian case, 1908-1956, which covers the history of Federal management of timberlands of the Menomenee Indians of Wisconsin. Vols 79A and 79B discuss the Chippewa National Forest, 1881-1945, which includes the history of Indians in Minnesota and logging operations carried out by the Interior Department in the Cut Foot Sioux District.

The papers consist of several letters and two journals of Henry Ellsworth's travels to New Connecticut (1811) and to the West (1832) after his appointment as Commissioner to the Indians. In this capacity, he was to superintend the removal of Indian tribes to the south and west of Arkansas, and his journal of 1832 describes the life of the Indians in eastern Oklahoma.

Grinnell corresponded with many Indian leaders, and individuals and organizations involved with Indian affairs, and became an authority on the Blackfeet, Ceyennes, and Pawnees. Presidents Cleveland and Theodore Roosevelt appointed Grinnell to negotiate with Indian tribes. In addition to his letterbooks for the period 1886-1929 are five folders filed under the heading "Indians."

The papers consist of correspondence, diaries, notebooks, school notes, and other papers of O.C. Marsh, scientist and first professor of paleontology at Yale and in the United States.His 1870 Yale Scientific Expedition to Nebraska, Colorado, Wyoming, and California put him into contact with numerous Indians. Series VII, boxes 51-54 (microfilm reels 26-28), Red Cloud Agency, relates to Marsh's efforts to reform the treatment of the Oglala Sioux by agents of the Indian Commission.

Includes papers of Elizabeth Merwin Roe Page (1861-1943), Alfred Cox and Emma Wickham Roe and sister of daughter of Mary Wickham Roe, relating to her missionary activities on behalf of American indians. From about 1903 to 1913 she served as Field Secretary for the Women's Board of Domestic Missions of the Reformed Church in America, and was ithe author of In Camp and Tepee (1915) which describes its work. There is an important file of letters for the period 1900-1916.

Correspondence, literary notes, clippings, photographs, and an album of poems and drawings on Edinburgh compiled (1898-1899) by Cecil Piatt. The correspondence consists mainly of letters to John Bear Piatt from family members on the frontier in Montana, Dakota territory, and Kansas. Included are descriptions of pioneer life and various Indian tribes.

For many years, the Roes labored to improve Indian rights to land and education and travelled often to Washington, D.C. to promote Indian causes and Indian special interest groups. While lecturing at Yale in 1906, Mary Roe met henry Cloud, a Winnebago Indian, whom the Roes adopted; Cloud graduated from yale and married Elizabeth Bender, a Chippewa. Related material can be found in the Page and Wickham Family Papers.

Included are John Maley's narrative account of three expeditions from Natchitoches up the REd River, 1811-1813, to trade with Indians; Maley describes the customs of the Kashotoos, Hietans, Pawnees, and other tribes, and their relations with the Spanish in Texas. Also included is Anthony Glass's copy of a journal of a voyage from Nackitosh into the interior of Louisiana on the Red River, 1808-1809, with a license to trade with the Pawnee and Hietan Indians. He describes the customs of Indians.

The papers consist of miscellaneous personal papers of Edward Parmelee Smith including letters to his future wife (1851-1854) and letters to his daughter (1872-1873) with an account of a sea voyage to California and his impressions once there. From 1871-73, Smith served as Indian Agent to the Chippewa Agency in Minnesota; from 1871-1873 he was US Commissioner of Indian Affairs; in 1875 he was elected president of Howard University.

The major figure in these papers is Joseph Monfort Street, who was an Indian agent in Iowa in the 1820s and 1830s.Joseph M. Street's experiences on the frontier are documented in letters and financial records. Also in the papers are writings by Ida M. Street, William B. Street, and others on Indian affairs in the Iowa territory (1899-1901) and a day book (1795-1802) He commanded the expedition during which General Custer was killed, and in 1877 attempted to negotiate with Sitting Bull.

The papers consist of correspondence, writings, photographs, clippings and other papers relating to Granville and James Stuart and the early history of Montana. Much of the correspondence is dated 1916-1918 and consists of incoming letters and typewritten carbon copies of outgoing letters relating to information on Montana history, and Native American vocabularies.

The papers contain correspondence, family papers, diaries, sermons, photoprints, and other materials documenting the personal lives and professional careers of Joseph Dresser Wickham, Elizabeth Cooke Merwin Wickham and several Wickham, Merwin, Porter, and Roe relatives. Emma Wickham Roe, Alfred Cox Roe, Mary Wickham and Walter Clark Roe lived on the Indian Mission in Colony, Oklahoma. Emma Roe's letters describe life and conditions at the mission.

Photographs, writings, clippings, and other material related to Wildschut's study of North American Indians. Includes 64 photographs, most of them portraits of Native Americans, primarily Crow Indians, including Plenty Coups and Two Leggings. Other photographs are of encampments, ceremonies, medicine bundles and other objects, the grave of Two Leggings, cavalrymen at the monument at Little Bighorn, and Wildschut handing Marshal Ferdinand Foch a portrait of Plenty Coups.

Photographs created by Christian Barthelmess of people and places in New Mexico, Colorado, and Montana, 1881-1903.

Subjects include the Grand, Glen, and Havasu Canyons, the Colorado and Green Rivers, Zion National Park, miscellaneous photographs of Arizona, California Colorado, and Utah, and portraits of expedition members and Native Americans. There are 24 drawings by Dellenbaugh which were used as illustrations in Romance of the Colorado and Breaking the West.

The Franz R. and Kathryn M. Stenzel Collection of Western American Art Addition consists of thirty-two works of art, twenty Native American artifacts, and various prints and manuscript items, which decorated the home of Kathryn M. Stenzel until her death in 2006 and which comprise the remainder of the art collection that was donated in 1997.

Correspondence and subject files kept by George Pierce Baker (1866-1935) as founder and chairman of the Yale Department of Drama, 1925-33. The collection includes three folders of correspondence relating to American Indian culture and art, 1929-1933, in which the major correspondent is Oqua Pi, an Indian artist.

Letters, including several from or pertaining to Stephen F. Austin, official correspondence and documents, degrees, expedientes and reports,recording the history and development of Mexico's northeastern frontier from 1707-1847. Most of the collection concerns Texas, but there are also important documents concerning Louisiana and New Mexico.

The papers consist of correspondence, writings, notes and notebooks, clippings, printed matter, which relate to Ellsworth Huntington's professional career and his activities for a number of professional organizations with which he was associated. Beginning in 1910, Huntington spent five seasons in association with the Carnegie Foundation Desert Lab studying the deserts of the southwestern US and Mexico.

Includes papers of Elizabeth Merwin Roe Page (1861-1943), Alfred Cox and Emma Wickham Roe and sister of daughter of Mary Wickham Roe, relating to her missionary activities on behalf of American indians. From about 1903 to 1913 she served as Field Secretary for the Women's Board of Domestic Missions of the Reformed Church in America, and was ithe author of In Camp and Tepee (1915) which describes its work. There is an important file of letters for the period 1900-1916.

For many years, Prudden spent his summers in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Arizona, exploring and mapping sites of Indian dwellings. There are eleven folders of anthropological correspondence, 1896-1924, mainly with his guides, the Wetherill brothers. They were also archaeologists, and Richard Wetherill (1858-1910) discovered the Mesa Verde ruins in Colorado and named the "basket-maker" culture. He was murdered by a Navajo Indian. Prudden was the author of several papers and a book on Indians.

The subjects for Tucker's portraiture have come principally from Native American populations. These include members of the Onondaga Nation, Shinnecock Indian Nation, Navajo Nation, and Montaukett Indians. Tucker has also documented Native American artists from pueblos throughout the southwestern United States.This collection documents the career of Toba Pato Tucker as a portrait photographer, circa 1950-2006, with the bulk of the collection from 1977 to 2000.

Brewer participated in several survey and exploring expeditions in the West. The collection includes a large group of California letters (1860-64), five notebooks written on a Rocky Mountain Trip in 1869, and documentation on missionary labor among the Indians of California. There is also correspondence with Sequoyah, or George Guess, inventor of the Cherokee syllabary and codifier of the Cherokee language.

The papers consist of correspondence, writings, notes and notebooks, clippings, printed matter, which relate to Ellsworth Huntington's professional career and his activities for a number of professional organizations with which he was associated. Beginning in 1910, Huntington spent five seasons in association with the Carnegie Foundation Desert Lab studying the deserts of the southwestern US and Mexico.

The papers contain journals, notebooks, drawings and maps, documents and correspondence which document the activities of Edward and Richard Kern in the West and the Pacific from 1845-1860. A journal and a notebook document Edward Kern's participation in Fremont's third expedition to California; and a journal, a logbook, drawings, two maps and a letter document Edward's participation in the Northern Pacific Exploring Expedition in 1853-1856.

For many years, Prudden spent his summers in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Arizona, exploring and mapping sites of Indian dwellings. There are eleven folders of anthropological correspondence, 1896-1924, mainly with his guides, the Wetherill brothers. They were also archaeologists, and Richard Wetherill (1858-1910) discovered the Mesa Verde ruins in Colorado and named the "basket-maker" culture. He was murdered by a Navajo Indian. Prudden was the author of several papers and a book on Indians.

The subjects for Tucker's portraiture have come principally from Native American populations. These include members of the Onondaga Nation, Shinnecock Indian Nation, Navajo Nation, and Montaukett Indians. Tucker has also documented Native American artists from pueblos throughout the southwestern United States.This collection documents the career of Toba Pato Tucker as a portrait photographer, circa 1950-2006, with the bulk of the collection from 1977 to 2000.

Papers consist of diaries, correspondence, writings, printed works, photographs, maps, and other materials that document William Downie's life, interest, and travels in the Northwest, particularly during the 1850s and 1860s. The papers offer evidence of early exploration and mining operations in British Columbia, particularly in the Quesnel Forks area by the Quesnelle Mining Company. Downie's interest and encounters with indigenous inhabitants are recorded.

Correspondence, Pond and Norton family deeds, and financial papers of the Pond family of Connecticut together with records pertaining to the town of Wolcott. The papers also contain a partial autobiography of Peter Pond (1740-1807) describing his experiences in the French and Indian War and as a fur trader in the northwest.

Mainly professional papers concerning Graves' work as a forester and first dean of Yale School of Forestry. His diaries and photographs document a trip to Alaska in 1914-15, including some material on Eskimos and notes on Indians.