Anglo-Saxon manuscripts divided into volumes: vol.1 Books of prayers and healing, vol. 2 Psalters, vol. 3 Anglo-Saxon gospels, vol. 4 Glossed Texts, Aldhemiana, psalms, and vol. 5 Latin manuscripts.

This collection contains all of the society’s anti-slavery materials, including tracts, miscellaneous pamphlets, and other ephemeral documents, and some rare, early periodicals of the Thompson-Clarkson Collection, on which Thomas Clarkson based his ‘History of the Abolition of Slavery’.

Governmental issues about the colony of Australia. Topics include the massacre in New Zealand of the crew of the Boyd, correspondence with Charles Throsby, medical treatment of convicts, meeting minutes about orphan institutions, and other colonial issues.

Archives from Blenheim Palace. Includes the papers of Charles Spencer, 3rd Earl of Sunderland, writings from John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough, his correspondence with Lord Treasurer Godolphin and other officials and ministers, diplomats and foreign powers, personal papers of his wife, Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough and her correspondence with Queen Anne, and their son-in-law, the 3rd Earl of Sunderland. Topics covered are continental war efforts, domestic policy, the Whig cause, etc.

Included in this British biographical archive are biographical entries from 324 reference books originally published between 1601 and 1929. Particular care was taken to include women in this collection, and there are many cross references. Like the other Saur biographical archives, the first fiches provide the title pages and prefaces from the source works. The entries are arranged in one alphabetical sequence.

Women authors writing about travel and the British Empire. Topics included are transforming gender roles, colonial attitudes, identity issues, colonialism, and national awareness within the colonies. Parts two and three are focused on “the Orient” including the Middle East, China, and Japan.

The personal papers of Richard Burton, James Agustus Grant, and John Hanning Speke discussing the Empire and masculinity in the Empire.

Books of fiction from Britain and Imperial India exploring colonial life, policy, and the colonial experience.

Manuscripts collection from the Cambridge University Library about Old English Literature (c.650-1000 CE). The scope of the material includes Anglo-Saxon and Latin tradition in literature, theology, and philosophy. Authors included are Aelfric, Aldhelm, Bede, Boethius, Gregorius and Wulfstan

Redgrave's Short-title catalogue as well as new titles from the revised edition of the catalog. The series fully documents the English Renaissance, the broadening of the known world, and the spread of printing and education.

A comprehensive collection of more than 800 early newspapers representing metropolitan London, areas outside London, and colonial possessions, excluding America. Most are from the eighteenth century, but seventeenth-century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks are also included. The set preserves much of the British Library's Burney Newspaper Collection supplemented with holdings from the Bodleian Library, Oxford University.

Material from the East India Company’s dealings in China and Japan. Sources include diaries, ledgers, shipping instructions, business papers, papers on Chinese debts, documents from commercial and factory consultations.

Also includes British Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1976. Events covered are foundation of the People’s Republic, the deaths of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976, population issues, the Marriage Law, the Agrarian Reform Law, Sino-Soviet relations, and British commercial policy in China.

The collection contains a broad spectrum of philosphical and religous publications, ranging from sermons, Bibles and prayer books, to moral and ethical debates and prescriptions for proper conduct. A variety of works are included, from the moral essays and correspondence of anonymous authors to the writings of more well-known philosophers and theologians such as John Locke, John Wesley, Cotton Mather, Increase Mather, George Berkeley, George Whitfield, Jeremy Bentham, John Newton, David Hume.

Materials concerning colonists’ relations with the native people, issues of race and empire, initial cultural contacts, cultural interchange, Commonwealth conferences for 1887-1955 and materials on colonial reform within the Empire. Sources include periodical literature, articles, conference minutes, and reports.

These papers are arranged by the country to which they relate, and are in the form of correspondence from emissaries, local governors and officials. They are addressed primarily to Lord Burghley, and after his death, to the Queen and to other government officials.

Group I consists of Votes & Proceedings of the Cape House of Assembly and the Legislative Council, and Annexures to the Votes and Proceedings (including Select Committee Reports), 1854-1910.

Newspaper and journal articles describing the Irish experience under British control from the years 1760-1922. Topics addressed include accession, famine, propaganda on issues such as Repeal, Home Rule, Land League, Pernallism, Irish nationalism, Irish self-awareness, seizure and censorship of the Irish press, Orange Order, Roman Catholic Church, literary revival, economic concerns, Easter Risings, Irish Nationalism, relationship between Irish abroad and the mother country.

The bibliography London Directories 1677-1855, published in 1932 by Charles W.F. Goss, was the starting point for this microfilm collection. These directories serve as a resource for genealogical and urban studies, showing the growth of the city of London over a span of three centuries.

Rare advice books, manuals and literary texts relating to masculinity between 1560 and 1918. Part 1 comprises 61 core texts from the collections of the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

This collection provides the definitives annotated texts of records of royal and revolutionary governments in Massachusetts from the arrival of Governor Thomas Gage in May 1774 to the convening of the colony's first General Court in July 1775. The six principal categories of documents included are executive proclamations and correspondence, town records, Superior Court records, General Court journals and papers, county conventions, and Provincial Congress journals.

The period covered by the parish records of Lasswade (1650-1750), in the Lothian region of Scotland, was one of great social and economic change in lowland Scotland. Lasswade was chosen for this project as a particularly well-documented parish which, owing to its proximity to Edinburgh, highlights these changes. The records consist of the Poll Tax, giving information on the size, structure, wealth and distribution of Scotland's population; and parish registers of baptisms, marriages and deaths.

This collection assembles key historical documents of the administrative district, or parish, of Earls Colne. Included are manorial records, account books, a diary, and early 16th-century maps.

Commonplace book collection from the British Library from 1550 to 1700. Included are the personal writings of Sir Julius Caesar, John Milton, Sir John Gibson, Sir Walter Ralegh, Shakespeare, Thomas Harriot, and others. Materials included are poems, speeches, useful notes for lawyers and doctors, ideas, journals, political letters, notes on household management, proverbs, prayers, and common expressions. Topics included are personal response to social conditions of the day and social commentary.

Commonplace book collection from the British Library from 1550 to 1700. Included are the personal writings of Sir Julius Caesar, John Milton, Sir John Gibson, Sir Walter Ralegh, Shakespeare, Thomas Harriot, and others. Materials included are poems, speeches, useful notes for lawyers and doctors, ideas, journals, political letters, notes on household management, proverbs, prayers, and common expressions. Topics included are personal response to social conditions of the day and social commentary.

Material that relating to sex and sexuality from 1640 to 1940. Resources included are advice books, medical works, moral guides, erotic and pornographic literature, and literary critiques. Topics cover include prostitution, the sociology of sex, lesbianism, romantic friendships, and flagellation.

Sixteenth- and seventeenth- century newsletters that provide the English perspective on European events.

Manuscripts from 1540 to 1700 covering Parliamentary proceedings, political, religious and economic problems, royal projects, situations in both Ireland and Scotland, and naval reforms. Also included are the proceedings of the High Court for trying the King.

Prompt books from American Shakespearian productions from the 17th to 20th centuries.

George Thomason, a London book publisher and book seller, tried to save copies of literally everything that was being published in England from 1640 to 1661, from single broadsides to substantial dissertations. The microfilm is accompanied by two indexes, one arranged by British Library tract number and one done by the number in the Wing Short-title catalogue. Both give the same information.

Literary manuscripts, correspondence, and other writings of the British author Maria Edgeworth. The scope of the collection includes Anglo-Irish literature, female education, literary life, society, women’s writing, women’s reading, life in Ireland, and the history of the novel.