It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.
Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform and Chartism.
British Periodicals Collection I consists of journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Derived from the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals the collection will contain the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes and over 3 million pages.
An archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995 with links to JSTOR enabled. Yale's Subscription includes access to these collections of titles that extend the range of JSTOR: English Literature (75 titles, 1813-1989), History (75 titles, 1813-1989) , British Periodicals Collection I (160 journals, 1681 - 1920).
The print edition of the Waterloo Directory was published in 10 volumes in 1998 and represents an expansion of the earlier one-volume Waterloo Directory of Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900. The latter title was published in 1976 with about 29,000 brief entries gathered from a number of extensive secondary sources: the Times’ Tercentenary Handlist of English and Welsh Newspapers, the British Union Catalogue of Periodicals, the British Library Catalogue, and Mitchell’s Newspaper Press Director
Historical Newspapers Online's index to The Times (London) is based on Palmer's Index to the Times, which covers the period from 1790 to 1905. Palmer's Full Text Online covers 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's Index to The Times.
An ambitious digitization project that delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
This website, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, makes available a database of thousands of prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain in fully-searchable form. It also offers ancillary facilities aimed to enhance users’ understanding and appreciation of the material it presents, such as various resources contextualising prints and printmaking, as well as original research on British prints to 1700, including the ‘Print of the Month’ that appears on this page.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD) includes the immediate experiences of 91 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection includes more than 100,000 pages of primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics