It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bibliography of British and Irish history provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Original British historical materials from the period of Henry VIII to George III. Included are correspondence, reports, memoranda, parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators. Subjects range from high level international politics and diplomacy to local crime.
Provides access to papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Colonial State Papers integrates two important research tools as one service: Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers); and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. Users can limit their searches to records that include scanned documents or can search all documents recorded in the Calendar.
17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers grants full-text access to the British Library’s collection of newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Included are Parliamentary papers, the London daily news, English humor of the 1600s, and other early English news media.