Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

Ecology and Evolution - Selected Information Resources: Other Reference Material

Other Reference Material

 

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction - c2013, 2 volumes

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution - c2011

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - c2003, 2nd edition, 17 volumes

Oxford Bibliographies - Ecology - Over 100 bibliographies in the area of ecology. 

Oxford Bibliographies - Evolutionary Biology - Over 60 bibliographies related to evolutionary biology.

Ainsworth & Bisby's Dictionary of the Fungi by DL Hawksworth, PM Kirk, BC Sutton, and DN Pegler. A well-known reference work on fungi, now in its 10th edition (c2008) and first published in 1943, providing definitions or explanations for terms and generic names of interest to mycologists. Coverage is of fungi, lichens, mushrooms, slime moulds, water moulds, and yeasts. Most entries include literature references. This edition contains a key to fungal families. A tribute to Ainsworth and his 60-year career appeared in Mycologia 91(4):714-719 July-August 1999. c2008 location 

Bradley Bibliography: a guide to the literature of the woody plants of the world published before the beginning of the Twentieth Century by Alfred Rehder (Publications of the Arnold Arboretum, no. 3). This is a 5-volume set consisting of references to literature (books, pamphlets, articles) on woody plants, from any language through 1900. Entries are arranged by volumes 1 and 2: dendrology, 3: arboriculture, 4: forestry and volume 5 contains an author, title and keyword index. c1911-1918 location 

Encyclopedia of Evolution. 2-volume work from Oxford University Press, 2012. 370 entries, great reviews. Also held in print (Library Shelving Facility).

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS). Multi-volume set from Wiley. See section Evolution & Diversity of Life. Key subject areas: biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, genetics, molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, structural biology, virology. 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

lori.bronars@yale.edu

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213