• Williams, Paul; Lyons, James.Rise of the American Comics Artist : Creators and Contexts. University Press of Mississippi: Jackson, MS, 2010.
• Eck, Jeremiah. House in the Landscape : Siting Your Home Naturally. Princeton Architectural Press: New York, NY, 2010.
• Edwards, Elizabeth. Camera As Historian : Amateur Photographers and Historical Imagination, 1885-1918. Duke University Press: Durham, NC, 2012.
• Henry, Michel; Davidson, Scott. Seeing the Invisible : On Kandinsky. Continuum International Publishing: London, 2009.
• Barber, Charles E. Visualizing the Middle Ages, Volume 2 : Contesting the Logic of Painting : Art and Understanding in Eleventh-Century Byzantium. Brill Academic Publishers: Boston, MA, 2007.

Ebrary is an online collection of 25,000+ authoritative and copyrighted books that provides access to the full-text of publications online at anytime.  Through ebrary, you can browse and view documents, conduct full-text searches, highlight passages, make notes in the text, and more!  Titles cover many different subject areas, from Social Sciences, Law, Medicine, Science, and Computing to Education, Fine Arts, and History.

NOTE: This resource is provided to you by Yale University Libraries.  You will need your Yale NetID and password to access this resource.

Basic Search:

To search, enter keywords, author or title in the simple search box on the ebrary homepage.

Adavanced Search:

Click on either the Search tab or the Advanced link.

The default search parameter is Text and Key Fields. Use the pull down blue arrow to select the search fields that are best for your search.

To add or remove any search options, use the  and  signs.

---

Creating an account

By creating an ebrary account, you can

• Download chapters of the book to your computer as a PDF
• Save documents, notes, and highlights to your personal bookshelf (only with the ebrary Reader)
• Add books to your bookshelf to save for future use
  
• Create folders to organize your research

NOTE: You do not need to use the ebrary Reader in order to create an ebrary Personal Bookshelf. However, in order to view highlight, create notes, copy, or print pages, you will need to use the ebrary Reader. 

To create your ebrary account:

1. Click on the "Sign In" button in the upper right corner.
2. On the Sign In page, click on Create my user account.
3. Complete the form and then click on Create My Account.

---

Your Personal Bookshelf

If you have an ebrary account, you can store documents that you are interested in on your personal bookshelf that only you can view. The bookshelf is your workspace where can organize your research. You can also create folders to organize your documents and annotations. ebrary helps you keep track of which folders your work is in and which items are not categorized.

         NOTE: You must first create an account to use the ebrary Bookshelf. See the box above for more details.

ADDING BOOKS TO YOUR BOOKSHELF FROM THE QUICKVIEW

1. Conduct a search

2. Select a book that would like to save by clicking on the cover image or title.The QuickView will provide access to the full text of the book.

3. To save the book to your bookshelf, click on the Add to My Bookshelf link on the right side of the screen.

VIEWING YOUR BOOKSHELF & CREATING FOLDERS

1. To view the books on your bookshelf, click on the Bookshelf tab near the top left of the screen.

2. Your folders will be listed on the left side of the screen. The contents of the folders will be listed on the right side of the screen. To add a new folder, click on the Add Folder link on the left. To place books in folders, simply drag your books from the right side to a folder on the left.

---

Ebrary Reader

You must download the ebrary Reader to select, copy, or print pages.

When you print or paste copied text, a bibliographic citation of the source material with a link to the page in the document where the information was obtained is included.

To select text

1. To select a single word, click the word. The selected word, along with any surrounding punctuation, is highlighted.

            Note: You cannot select part of a word.

2. To select more than one word, click and drag to highlight your selection.

To copy text

1. Select the text you want to copy.

2. Click the Copy Text button on the toolbar, or use the keys on your keyboard.

3. Paste the text in a file or email message.

To copy a bookmark of a page

1. Go to the page that you want to bookmark.

2. Select InfoTools > Copy Bookmark. This copes the URL of the page.

3. Paste the URL in a file or email message.

To print pages

          Note: The number of pages you can print is set by each publisher.

Each printed page includes a bibliographic citation.

1. Click the Print button on the toolbar. Do not use your browser's print icon!

2. Specify the pages to print.

3. Choose whether you want to optimize the printing for quality or speed.

4. Click Page Setup if you want to change the print settings.

5. Choose a printer, and then click OK.

INFOTOOLS

InfoTools is a key feature of the ebrary Reader that enables you to expand your research. Use InfoTools to look up, explain, or translate words you don't know; tosearch the book or the rest of the ebrary collection for a particular word or phrase in the text; and much more! NOTE: You will need to download the ebrary Reader to use InfoTools.

*For additional information, including how to download the ebrary Reader and use the ebrary InfoTools, view the ebrary Help & Support.

 

Other Ebrary Resources

Ebrary Quick Start Guide

Ebrary Online Support