•  Searching HathiTrust

•  Advanced Searching in HathiTrust

•  Catalog versus Full-text Searching

•  Find in a Library

•  Login to HathiTrust

•  Viewability

•  Downloading a Full-View Item

Logging in lets you access downloads of PDF volumes that are in the public domain, and also facilitates access to the Collection Builder.

Yale University students, faculty and staff can login using their NetID and password.

1. Go to http://www.hathitrust.org.
2. Click on the “My Collections” link.
3. Click on the “Log in” link.
4. Select “Yale University” from the pull-down list of HathiTrust institutions and click on the “Login” button.
5. Wait to be transferred to a Yale University authentication display (CAS) and then provide your NetID and password.
6. Click on the “Home” link to return to the HathiTrust search screen.

• "Full-view" items = fully accessible ebooks ready to read, search, download and print.

• "Limited (search only)" items = ebooks that are under copyright.  These items are available for full-text searching, but are not available for reading or downloading.

• PageTurner is the name of the HathiTrust viewing application where you can read, search, print and download an item.

Once you have a full-view item record pulled up you have the option to download one page at a time or the full item in PDF format.*  

• At the top left of the PageTurner screen click “Download PDF – whole book” and wait while HathiTrust prepares the PDF file. 
• Your computer will then prompt you to save the PDF to your local hard drive. 

*You need to be logged in to download items, and you cannot download limited-view items.

There are 5 ways to search items in HathiTrust:

1. Catalog Search:
1. Search by Title, Author, or Publication Date.
2. Use the WorldCat Local prototype catalog to search keywords or conduct an advanced search of records in HathiTrust and WorldCat at the same time.
2. Advanced Search (see below)
3. Full-text Search: Use keywords to search the full-text of all items in HathiTrust.  
4. Collection Builder: Search within a collection of materials that you or others have created.
5. Single-volume Search: When viewing an item in PageTurner (see example), use keywords to search inside that volume alone.

The Advanced Catalog Search option is located under the main Catalog Search dialog box on the HathiTrust home page.  This search option is the best place to start any subject specific research.  There are up to four lines to add search terms, with eight categories to choose from, including: All Fields, Title, Author, Subject, Publisher, Series Title, Year of Publication and ISBN/ISSN.  Each term can be linked to the others by the Boolean logic terms AND/OR. 

The Advanced Catalog Search has a few other features: 

·      Link two or more subject terms together using Boolean logic

·      Limit results to a language or format, or to Full-view items only

·      Control the Year of Publication for your search results

·      Narrow in on a specific author and/or title

There are advantages to each type of search option within HathiTrust.  All search results can be sorted by Relevance, Date or Author.

The Catalog Search search option searches the catalog records for items and offers more control over which fields are searched across all items in the digital library. 

• Title, Author, Subject, Publisher and Date of Publication are some of the fields that you can search using a term or phrase. 
• Searching within specific fields will help refine the search results. 
• The Catalog Search also features an Advanced Catalog Search option to help narrow in on a particular topic or subject.

The Full-text Search option searches the text of items in the digital library for the provided search term or phrase.  While you may not have "full-view" access to an item, full-text searching will still scan the text of "limited (search only)" items for your search term or phrase.

• You can search the full-text of every item within HathiTrust or you can search the full-text of a single item.
• Searching the full-text of a limited (search only) item is particularly helpful in determining if the item will be useful.  If the term of phrase is found within an item, results will appear as a list of page numbers and the occurrence of the term on each page listed.
• Example: Searching the text of the limited (search only) book Frank O. Gehry: Selected Works: 1969 to Today (2007) for the term Guggenheim found 6 instances of the term within the text of 600 pages.  This means this book will contain some information related to Frank Gehry and the Guggenheim, but not much.

When looking at an item’s catalog record or in the PageTurner interface, there is a link labeled “Find in a library”.  HathiTrust has linked its records with WorldCat.  When you click the link it will take you into WorldCat’s catalog record for that item, complete with a list of libraries that own a copy of that item, and which can be sorted by distance from you when a zip code is entered.

• If you see Yale University listed under the WorldCat catalog record, click the link to take you to Orbis, Yale University Libraries' online catalog.  If the link out of WorldCat doesn’t take you to the appropriate item record in Orbis, simply conduct an Orbis search using the item's information from the WorldCat record. 
• If you do not see Yale University listed as an owner of a particular item:  
• You can see if there is another local library with a copy.  
• You can also request the item from another institution if they allow that item to circulate through Interlibrary Loan.  Don’t forget to check if the library that owns the item is within the Borrow Direct system, as that might get you the item faster.  Always remember that when requesting an item from another library it may take a few weeks, and the lending library can deny a request at their discretion.