Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies - Resources in the Social Sciences: Journal articles and databases

You have a citation to an article...

Enter the details into CitationLinker to see if Yale has the article in full text.

If Yale has the article in print but not online, you can use Scan and Deliver to request a copy.

If the article isn't available in any format at Yale, request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

You're looking for a journal...

To find specific journals (as opposed to individual journal articles), search:

Find eJournals by Title
When you know the title of the journal and want to go straight to it online.

Orbis (Yale Library catalog)
Especially useful for locating print holdings of journals that are not entirely available online. Also includes records for online journals.

MORRIS (Yale Law Library catalog)
Includes records for online and print journals to which the Law Library subscribes.

Citation databases

Citation databases allow you to see how often a work of scholarship is cited, and to trace connections between related works.

Selected African studies databases

For additional African studies resources, please see the guide to Yale's African Collection.

Selected social science databases

This is just a sampling of the many databases available to researchers in the social sciences. To find other resources in your field, search Yale Library's complete list of databases or consult the subject guides listed below.

How to find the top resources in a subject area

To explore the most valuable sources and research tips in a specific discipline or subject area, try one of the subject guides below. These are created by Yale's subject specialist librarians to highlight relevant tools and techniques. If you have questions about your research, get in touch with the appropriate subject librarian--we're always happy to help!