Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HSHM 448/HIST 151/WGSS 448 American Medicine and the Cold War: Selected Cold War medicine resources at Yale

Guide for Naomi Rogers class, HSHM 448/HIST 151/WGSS 448 American Medicine and the Cold War

Cold War Archives at Yale

Selected archives at the Medical Historical Library and Manuscripts and Archives:

  • Association of Internes and Medical Students. Harvey Cushing Chapter Records at Medical Historical Library
    The Association of Internes and Medical Students (AIMS), which advocated for progressive causes such as national health insurance, was organized by medical school chapters. The Harvey Cushing Chapter was the Yale School of Medicine chapter. The collection contains correspondence, a report, and minutes of the chapter and material on national AIMS activities.
     
  • Isidore Sydney Falk papers at Manuscripts and Archives
    The papers consist of correspondence, professional files, research materials, writings, personal papers, and printed matter documenting Isidore Falk's career as an advocate of national health insurance and other programs related to public health. Of particular significance are the materials from his years with the Social Security Board (1936-1954), which document the campaign for government supported health insurance in the United States.
     
  • John Punnett Peters papers at Manuscripts and Archives
    The papers contain correspondence, reports, writings, and personal papers of John Punnett Peters. The papers primarily document his crusade for national health insurance and his support for progressive causes and include materials on his disloyalty charge. Copies of many of his writings and speeches and personal correspondence and papers are also included. These papers are part of the Contemporary Medical Care and Health Policy Collection.
     
  • Edwin Richard Weinerman at Manuscripts and Archives
    Correspondence, consultations, surveys, writings, printed material, and other papers of Edwin Richard Weinerman. Material primarily reflects Weinerman's interest in public health and deals with his activities both as a consultant and administrator with various public and private health careorganizations, including the U. S. Public Health Service, Permanente Health Plan, American Public Health Association, and the Yale-New Haven Hospital. A significant part of the collection also relates to Weinerman's social and political activities, especially his concern over dangers of air pollution, nuclear warfare and radiation poisoning, and his opposition to the House Committee on Un-American Activities and the Levering Act which required loyalty oaths.

Research using Yale's libraries and resources

Orbis to find books, journals, and other materials

Quicksearch for broadly searching multiple Yale databases

Worldcat or finding collections around the world

JSTOR for scholarly journal articles

America History and Life for scholarly journal articles

Historical Abstracts for history outside the United States

History of Science, Medicine, and Technology for history of medicine

Project Muse for a variety of scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences

Academic Search is a larger database that goes through a number of current periodicals, scholarly, popular and trade