Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HSHM 448/HIST 151/WGSS 448 American Medicine and the Cold War: Magazines and Newspapers from the era

Guide for Naomi Rogers class, HSHM 448/HIST 151/WGSS 448 American Medicine and the Cold War

Popular Magazine and Medical Journals

The following is a selection of popular magazines and medical journals with coverage during the 1940s-early 1960s and beyond available in electronic and paper formats.

You should also consult the:

Readers Guide Retrospective
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. It covers 1890 to 1982. While not a full text database, materials indexed can frequently be found electronically or in print.
 
 
Title   Location Format
American Mercury   Request from LSF In Print, but available online via HathiTrust.  Make sure to login using your Yale credentials!
Atlantic Monthly   Sterling stacks In Print, but available online via HathiTrust. Make sure to login using your Yale credentials!
Commonweal   Sterling stacks Online through Yale's subscription to the OpinionArchives. Also in Print.
Harper's   Request from LSF You can search the Harper's archives online.  Also in print.
Life     ONLINE via Google
Nation   Request from LSF Search the Nation's archives online.  Also in print.
New Republic   Request from LSF Search New Republic online.  Also in print.
Newsweek    Sterling stacks In Print, but available online via HathiTrust.  Make sure to login using your Yale credentials!
Reader's Digest  

 

Sterling stacks

 

In Print, but available online via HathiTrust. Make sure to login using your Yale credentials!
Saturday Evening Post   Sterling stacks Academic Search Premier or directly at Full text
Time   Online only Academic Search Premier or directly at Full text, or  ONLINE via Time Magazine Archive (search here, but don't pay!, Use Academic Search Premier)
Vital Speeches of the Day   Online and Print.  For print, request from LSF Academic Search Premier or directly at Full text
 
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)   Online and Print.  For print, visit the Medical Library, Sub-Basement Level Full text
Modern Hospital   Medical Library, Sub-Basement Level In Print, but available online via HathiTrust. Make sure to login using your Yale credentials.
Journal of the National Medical Association   Online and Print.  For print, visit the Medical Library, Sub-Basement Level Full text via PubMed Central
Popular Science     ONLINE via Google
Good Houskeeping     In Women's Magazine Archive
The Ladies' home journal     In Women's Magazine Archive

 

Newspaper and Magazine databases

You can also find primary sources in medical history in magazines or newspapers.  It depends on your topic!

Beyond Yale:

AFRO Black History Archives | The Afro-American Newspapers
The AFRO-American Newspapers, one of the nation's oldest news organizations dedicated to covering the African American community, has created a comprehensive collection of over a million articles that captures the African American experience in business, civil rights, education, health, law, and sports beginning in
the late 19th century. Google partnered with the AFRO and helped to digitize the newspaper's historic archives and make them searchable on-line and available to anyone, anywhere in the world.

List of Online Newspaper Archives This list of online newspaper archives is maintained on Wikipedia. It includes U.S. and international newspapers. Some are free, others have fees. Includes 19th and 20th century newspapers.