It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
The MLA Bibliography indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore, excluding book reviews. Access to citations from journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, and dissertations.
(Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Works in conjunction with HAPI. Can be searched in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
The HAPI index contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 journals mostly published in Latin America, 1970-to present. Can be searched in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
Fuente Académica Premier offers the full text for more than 650 scholarly publications and 30 academic books from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. It covers all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Search in Spanish or Portuguese.
This database provides a portal with access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
The HLAS is a selective, annotated subject bibliography of journal articles and monographs in the humanities and social sciences. Especially noteworthy for subject essays discussing recent research trends and scholarship.
ITER is an online bibliography of the Renaissance (1300-1700). The bibliography covers relevant secondary material published since 1700 to the current year. This material consists of both printed literature and matter in other media.
Latin American Women Writers (LAWW) will contain approximately 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America when complete. In this prototype version there are about 4200 pages of prose and poetry. Drama will be added in the next release.
Supplemental Resources in Support of Literary Studies
Searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.Caribbean.
The Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. The Chicano Database covers at least 1967 to the present, with more than 48,000 records. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Updated quarterly.
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.
Provides a detailed bibliographic tool to research the manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other documents — written by Borges and about Borges. It is an unrivaled resource essential for every scholar and student of Spanish literature and culture.
A full-text searchable database of SUR (1931-1991), one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. It contains images of the complete run of the magazine including covers, photographs and advertisements. The interface is in both Spanish and English.
The Teatro español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain, either edited by the playwrights themselves or by an editor "endorsed" by the playwright. The text is copied exactly as it was written, with all peculiarities captured - accents, abbreviations etc.
This collection presents an extensive grassroots view of Argentina and the social and political changes that have taken place there from 1983-2000. It provides access to material on Argentine society and politics beginning with the year 1996 and running to the present. Mostly primary sources.
Open Access Databases from Latin America and Spain
This is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain. Primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents, it covers more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. There are a growing number of fulltext articles available as content is continuously updated. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies, not well covered by other popular databases. English language search is available. Coverage is 1980 to ther present.
An open access digital platform that provides access to high quality scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The titles are in Spanish and are published in Spain and Latin America. Currently the database contains more than 400 titles and 110,000 fulltext articles.
El Repositorio Digital de CLACSO ofrece acceso libre y gratuito a producción de los 324 Centros Miembros de CLACSO en 25 países de América Latina y el Caribe. Actualmente, pueden acceder a más de 30.000 textos completos de artículos, documentos de trabajo, libros y ponencias publicados por la red CLACSO.
A model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet, conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific and other scholarly literature. The SciELO collection is continually updated and currently includes 630 scholarly peer reviewed journals, from Spain, Portugal, several South American countries and Cuba, which predominantly publish the results of original research, and other original works, and contribute significantly to knowledge in the area covered by the journal. Subjects include Agricultural, biological, health and earth sciences, chemistry, engineering, geosciences, mathematics, social sciences, humanities, linguistics, and the arts. Coverage is from 1997, or from its first issue in the case of journals founded after that year.