Guide to history, politics and economic background of countries; included are basic statistics, profiles of governmental leaders, and other relevant data. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archive.

Entries include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; and more. Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region.

Provides one 5-year historical and one 5-year projection summary for the country's macroeconomic, energy, metals and agriculture sectors and analyses the country's macroeconomic conditions and forecast.

Part of the Area Handbook Series. In depth coverage of history, society, environment, demography, mass organizations and socialization, religion, the economy, government and politics, national security, and more. Excellent source.

Database presents a global outlook with daily insights spanning politics, economics and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data on forecasts, as well as historic trends, including: country forecasts, political and economic landscapes, major economies and industry and commodity analysis for major industries, including supply, demand and prices of critical goods. Data is downloadable.

ELLA is a knowledge sharing and learning platform, funded by the UK Department for International Development. It aims to share knowledge of recent Latin American experiences on selected economic, environmental and governance issues. It supports learning between Latin American, African and South Asian countries, and is providing a networking platform for organizations and individuals to link to Latin America. As a content partner with Eldis, the full selection of Briefs from Ella are available to download.

The Food and Agriculture Organization for the United Nations and its 183 members highlight information as one of the priority areas in fighting hunger and achieving food security. The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System is a pioneering information retrieval tool which groups the organizations' vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogs it by country.

Contains information and data related to conflicts, arms transfers, military expenditures, and states and international organizations.

Provides information about the world- its regions and peoples and important international issues. You can search simultaneously by world region or country and by thematic area. Produced by Michigan State Universiy.

Background information and news on Brazil.

Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (formerly known as Background Notes) include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. These fact sheets are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the U.S. State Department's regional bureaus.

Country statistics, demographics and background.