It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection of 1,803 briefly labeled 35 mm color slides taken in the 1950s-1970s on travels to the Mediterranean, Latin America, and in the United States. Mostly architectural photography, but also many market and street scenes in rural areas of Latin America.
Collection consists of black and white glass lantern slides of Pre-Columbian arts, including architecture, sculpture, ceramics, and illuminated manuscripts from Mexico, Central America, and the Andean region of South America.
The collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.
The collection consists of audio recordings of Al cantío de un gallo radio program, as well as a small number of recordings of other radio programs. Al cantío de un gallo broadcast news (political, economic, cultural, and social), commentaries, interviews, and some music, pertaining to Cuba and Cuban exiles. The primary contributors were Carlos Franqui and Alfredo Melero. The recordings offer insight into the Cuban revolution, conditions in Cuba under Castro, resistance to Castro rule, and the Cuban exile experience. The program ran from the late 1980s through the 1990s.
St. George worked as an investigative reporter and photographer, especially focusing on Latin America, especially Cuba. The papers consist of photographs, films, slides, writings, and clippings, documenting Andrew St. George's career as a photojournalist in numerous regions, including the Caribbean and Latin America.
A collection of correspondence; government documents, including legal cases, reports, decrees and proclamations; church documents; published illustrated materials; and writings from the Caribbean islands (Cuba, Jamaica, Santo Domingo, Barbados, and the Virgin Islands) on civil, military, religious, economic and social topics.
The collection consists of photographs, films, printed matter, memorabilia, and other materials documenting various periods in the Cuban Revolution, particularly the years 1957-1960, 1964, and 1969. The materials were primarily created by photographer Andrew St. George and filmmaker David C. Stone. St. George's photographs provide extensive documentation of the 26th of July Movement from 1957 to 1959, and of Fidel Castro during his first year as prime minister. The films created by David C. Stone in 1969 include footage of the Vento School, Juventud Comunista, Turcios Lima Labor Brigade, Urbano Noris sugar mill, and orientadores rurales. The footage was incorporated into Compañeras y Compañeros, a 1970 documentary produced by David C. Stone, Barbara Stone, and Adolfas Mekas, a copy of which is in the collection. There are outtakes of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation film from 1964 of scenes of Havana and Santiago and interviews with Fidel Castro, students, cabaret performers, etc.
The papers of Samuel Flagg Bemis consist of correspondence, lecture notes, research materials, manuscripts (both published and unpublished), a complete set of printed works, clippings, photographs and memorabilia. Bemis studied U.S.-Latin American relations including Roosevelt's Good Neighbor Policy and Panamericanism. Contains some sources on Cuba and U.S. foreign policy.
An intentionally assembled collection of newspapers, pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, and miscellanea relating to anti-war, socialist, student, and radical political movements in the United States, Africa, Europe, Asia, and Latin America, 1946-1980.
World Student Christian Federation Africa Region Archives
The archives of the World Student Christian Federation Africa Regional Office include legal documents, minutes, financial records, and documentation of workshops and consultations dealing with issues such as human rights, women's leadership, conflict transformation, HIV and AIDS, and economic justice.
Rights and Wrongs, a television series that focused on human rights issues around the world, ran from 1993 to 1996. MSSA holds approximately 2000 videos from the series including program episodes and source footage. A number of episode segments focus on Latin American issues including Central American rights commissions, the modern United States occupation of Panama, the North American Free Trade Agreement, Haitian politics and democracy, the United States Army's "School of the Americas," Brazilian indigenous land struggles, and United States-Cuban relations. Researchers should consult with reference archivists in MSSA about use of the collection.