Yale University Library Research Guides: German Language and Literature: Articles, and Journals

Bibliographical Resources

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft
An international bibliography of German literature and literary studies. The period from 1985 to the present is available online via the link above. For prior years consult the print edition available in Sterling (Starr Main Reference Room, Call Number Z2231 B53).
Germanistik Online Datenbank
Germanistik is the central international journal on the study of German Language and Literature. 50 years of German philology - the history of the discipline both systematized and critically reviewed in more than 60,000 abstracts - are available online and fully searchable.
MLA International Bibliography
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
Verfasser-Datenbank
Over 13,400 lexicon articles on authors of German literature, ranging from the very beginnings to the present, are cross-linked in the database and their content can be accessed in a targeted manner using differentiated search criteria.

Core full text databases in German Studies at Yale

DigiZeitschriften (German digital journal archive)
A German JSTOR of sorts, providing full-text access to back runs of German journals in a wide range of humanistic disciplines: Anglistik, Bibliothekswesen, Geowissenschaften, Germanistik, Geschichte, Naturwissenschaften, Neuere Philologien, Rechtswissenschaft, Romanistik, Soziologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften.
more...less...
Much like JSTOR, DigiZeitschriften provides the full text from the journal's inception to a date determined either by the journal's demise or a "moving wall," which is a year determined by the publisher, after which they do not make the full text available to DigiZeitschriften.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB)
A service provided and maintained by the University Library of Regensburg. It provides access to many German-language journal titles and to the full text of some, though not all, scholarly articles.
German Literature Collection
German Literature Collections brings together six individual German literature resources: Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke, Die Deutsche Lyrik, and Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker (digital versions of titles from the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag). You may search in one collection, or across multiple collections simultaneously.
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, digitale Bibliothek: Zeitungen
The Digital Library of the Berlin State Library provides access to numerous German-language historical newspapers, from the 19th Century to the 1940s. The emphasis of the database is on historical Prussian newspapers, but titles include Turkish immigrant newspapers, as well as German-language newspapers from Turkey and Argentina from the 1940s, as well as Colonial-era newspapers from East Africa. Titles included in the Digital Library are also accessible through the Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB).
more...less...
The Berlin State Library also recently launched ZEFYS, a portal for finding and using current, as well as historical newspapers from Germany and all over the world.
ZEFYS
A product of the Berlin State Library's Digital Library (see above). ZEFYS is a new portal for finding and using current, as well as historical newspapers from Germany and all over the world.
Zeitschriften Datenbank (German Union Catalogue of Serials)
In the ZDB, you will find serial titles, newspapers, databases, yearbooks etc., in short, everything that was and is being published periodically in printed or electronic form and that is available in German and Austrian libraries. On the European level access to digitized newspapers will be constantly expanded.

Select Journals in German Studies

Links to current holdings of key journals in German studies. If current issue is electronic only that link is provided, but we may also have in print (especially for the older volumes). Please search in Orbis by journal title or ISSN.

Literary reviews of German literature

Humanities Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte (H-Soz-u-Kult): Rezensionen is a communication and discussion platform for historians in German-speaking countries. Among other things, it offers reviews of books, films and exhibitions on topics dealing with Germany's social and cultural history. Reviews are listed by publication date, but the interface will also let you limit your search by topic, historical era, and/or region.

IASL online provides online reviews in German on publications about German literature and culture.

Lirez : Literaturwissenschaftliche Rezensionen is an online portal of book reviews and literary criticism relating to German literature, published by the Ludwig Maximilians Universität München. The Home Page links to reviews published within the last thirty days and users can also search for reviews by date, author considered, and the review's writer. As well as categories covering specific historical periods, other categories include: drama; historical semantics; criminality and the media; the psychology of literature; literary theory; and travel literature.

Literaturkritik.de: Rezensionsforum für Literatur und für Kulturwissenschaft is a free monthly publication that provides full-text online access to academic reviews of thousands of new releases on literary and cultural topics. The latest issue can be found here, but one can also browse through the archive of older issues, available here

SEHEPUNKTE. Reviews of History and Humanities (Geisteswissenschaften)

New books in German online is the electronic version of a bi-annual magazine which presents reviews of new titles in German. An independent committee of translators, literary scholars and representatives of the book trade choose the titles, which cover fiction, cultural studies, history, and writing for children. The reviews may be browsed alphabetically by author. Although the site is mainly aimed at British and American publishers, since these titles are particularly recommended for translation into English, it is of interest to graduate researchers and teachers and lecturers of German who require information on current developments in German literature.

Rezensionen online is provided by the Österreichisches Bibliothekswerk (Forum of Catholic libraries in Austria). It includes an extensive collection of book reviews, mostly of literature acquired by Austrian public libraries.

In addition, many of the leading German Studies journals, as well as some German newspapers and magazines (e.g. Kultur-Spiegel online, Die Zeit) constantly publish book reviews on German literature.

Graduate student journals in German Studies

Edge (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

Focus on German Studies (University of Cincinnati)

New German Review (UCLA)

German Language and Literature: Articles, and Journals

Bibliographical Resources

Core full text databases in German Studies at Yale

Select Journals in German Studies

Literary reviews of German literature

Graduate student journals in German Studies

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries