Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.

German Language and Literature: German cinema & film criticism

Library resources for German language and literature at Yale

Film databases at Yale

Complete index to world film since 1895

With coverage beginning in 1895, this database, compiled by Alan Goble, contains information on over 428,500 films from 175 countries. It also contains over 458,000 references to books and journals.

 

FIAF International Index to Film-TV

International Index to Film Periodicals contains article references from more than 300 periodicals. The database, which cumulates citations to the annual printed volume, offers coverage of academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. Every year new records are added. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects). A separate scientific thesaurus can be used to find links between different subject headings.

 

FIAF Treasures from Film Archives (PQ)

The Treasures from the Film Archives contains unique information about silent film holdings worldwide. Conceived as a tool to aid preservation, research and film exchange between archives, it provides brief identification information on over 21,000 works. The database includes features, short films, and actualities as well as fictional works. Citations indicate original title, alternate titles, & minimal credits and production information. Future editions will include information about availability of access copies.

 

Film Index International (PQ)

Film Index International is an online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. The database provides indexing of over 115,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. Its content also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

 

Film Indexes Online

Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI Catalog together in one site - the result of partnerships with the British Film Institute (BFI) and the American Film Institute (AFI), Film Index International and AFI Catalog.

 

Film Literature Index

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries and other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.

Kanopy video streaming.

Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Includes many German-language films.

Film journals & magazines

Film-Philosophy

An international peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to philosophically discussing film studies, aesthetics and world cinema.

 

Glossen online journal

An online peer reviewed international bi-lingual scholarly journal on literature, film, and art in the German speaking countries after 1945. The journal was founded in 1997 and is published by the Department of German, Dickinson College in Carlisle, PA. The journal contains interviews, articles and reviews, and also provides visitors with the opportunity to listen to readings by authors. The full-text of each issue is available online, in a mixture of German and English.

 

Other film journals recommended by Goethe Institut can be found here.

Internet resources

Filmportal.de

A well-presented film website in German & English, although the German platform is more extensive. This project is coordinated by the Deutsches Filminstitut (German Film Institute), and provides details on German films, individuals and film companies. The site promises constant updates and more information to make its lists of films and individuals' filmographies as complete as possible. It also gauges news, current trends and developments in the German film industry, providing well-written synopses. It allows users to search thematically through different genres and contains a wealth of links, clips and stills. The focus here is on cinematic films, not television films.

 

German Films Service + Marketing GmbH is the national information and advisory center for the promotion of German films worldwide.

 

German Film Guide provided by Goethe Institut

Contains useful information on a number of film-related topics, such film archives, awards, festivals, periodicals, theory & criticism, etc.

Bundesarchiv / Filmarchiv (Federal Film Archive)

Germany maintains, cares for, and makes its moving pictures accessible to the public through the Federal Film Archive in Berlin, which is one the largest archives of its kind in the world. In 1990, the state Film Archive of the GDR was integrated into the film section of the Federal Archives.

The Film Archive has been collecting German newsreels, documentary films and feature films since the 1950s. The film archive material is accessible and may be used if its condition permits. Film Archive employees inform, advise and support research carried out by film producers, scientists, journalists and interested citizens. Literature on the subject is also available to users in a specialised library.

 

Deutsches Filminstitut

Founded in 1949, the Deutsches Filminstitut – DIF is the oldest cinematic institution in Germany and also one of the country's largest. To collect, process and analyse information on film is one of the main purposes of the DIF. A second purpose is the collection of films, their preservation and, if necessary, restoration in order to bring them back to the screen. In 2006, the Deutsches Filmmuseum, Frankfurt/Main, merged with the DIF and is now an institution of the latter. Together the DIF / Deutsches Filmmuseum now provide an exceptional variety of services and comprehensive expertise in film, but also run two cinemas: the award-winning Cinema of the Deutsches Filmmuseum in Frankfurt and the Caligari Filmbühne in Wiesbaden.

 

Deutsche Kinemathek--Museum für Film und Fernsehen

A film and television museum based in Berlin, Germany. The museum contains collections on film history from the first moving images to digital film. The website contains information about the museum, the collections, events and exhibitions past and present. The collections area of the website covers: a film archive; a script collection; a photo archive; and a poster archive among others. There is also a Marlene Dietrich collection, and the website provides a biography on the actress. The section on exhibitions has information about the permanent exhibitions, current exhibitions and an archive going as far back as 2000. In addition, the Deutsche Kinemathek is responsible for the Retrospective section of the Berlinale, and puts on special film series, exhibitions, colloquia and other events.