Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.

German Language and Literature: Newspapers and Magazines

Library resources for German language and literature at Yale

Subscriptions to German Newspapers

Select links to websites which list German newspapers

 

Wikisource Zeitschriften: List of Digitized German Serials 
An extensive list of German-language serials with links to digitized versions, covering all periods of history.

Informationen zur Elektronischen Zeitschriftenbibliothek

ANNO: Austrian  Newspapers Online

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: an international, and extensive, list of digital projects

WESSWEB: Selected Western European News and Newspapers Websites

ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem. Maintained by the Berlin State Library, ZEFYS is a portal for finding and using current as well as historical newspapers from Germany and all over the world, including 175 historical newspapers from Germany, official Prussian newspapers, and newspapers from the DDR.

e-newspaperarchives.ch. Provides access to titles digitized by the Swiss National Library and its cantonal partners.

Yale newspaper databases

Library PressDisplay- Online access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The library offers access to Library Press Display on four dedicated terminals in the Franke Periodical Reading Room on the first floor of Sterling Memorial Library. The library’s subscription allows for a limited number of Yale users from outside the library, available on a first come, first serve basis.

Factiva makes available articles in full text, searchable by topic or date range. It is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications. Sources are in 22 languages, date back as far as 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others), media programs, and company and stock reports. In addition to information on  public and private companies, Factiva includes news sources worldwide (newspapers, news magazines, wire services, etc. Searchable by title, industry, geographic locations, type, and language. (Covers 1969+, with coverage varying by publication).

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic). Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.  It provides access to publications and information sources in a variety of fields, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. International resources in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch and German.

IBZ Online - Lists more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view.

Portals and links to newspapers worldwide

ABYZ Newslinks includes links to internet newsmedia (newspapers and magazines), broadcast media (TV and radio) and press agencies.

Onlinenewspapers.com
: extensive listings of links to newspaper sites.

EuroNews: News stories, interviews and features with video (via RealPlayer) for each story.

UN News Centre 

Worldpress.org: A "nonpartisan magazine" composed of reprinted articles and original material. Main page with top news stories. Site also has links to think-tank and NGO sites, country profiles and statistics, official documents (full-text of position papers, resolutions, declassified reports et al.), education resources. Searchable site. Regional index to newspapers and magazines.