Find Books - History of U.S. - Latin American Relations - Yale University Library Research Guides at Yale University

The Temptations of the Imperialist Menu

How to Find Books at Yale University Library

Orbis
Yale University Library Catalog
Quicksearch
Search Orbis, Morris, and Articles+
LUX
With LUX, you can search holdings across all of Yale's cultural heritage collections (libraries, archives, and museums). Search results can include books, manuscripts, archival records, art objects, specimens, artifacts, and more.
Borrow Direct and InterLibrary Loan
Go to "Request" section for links

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog. Contains millions of records of items owned by libraries around the world. It includes: books, films and slides, journals and newspapers (NOT individual articles), manuscripts, maps, musical scores, sounds recordings, computer files and videotapes.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The CRL Catalog is the online catalog of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. It focuses on hard-to-find materials including: archival materials, newspapers and periodicals (foreign & domestic, specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, U.S. state documents, US and foreign academic publications.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital archive that brings together the immense collections of major research institutions and libraries.

E-books can be found in Orbis, but here are the main providers of e-books:

Project MUSE - Univeristy Press Content Consortium
Contains almost 29,000 e-books published by university presses. All books can be downloaded as PDFs on a chapter by chapter basis. This combines excellent academic content with ease of use. Be sure to click on the "Books" tab to search specifically in the e-books.
Ebrary Academic Complete
Contains over 110,000 e-books, but patrons can only print up to 60 pages a day and books can be downloaded for two weeks. The restrictions of this package are much greater than the Project MUSE e-books.
ACLS Humanities E-Books
Contains 4,300 high quality humanities titles. Can download 10 pages at a time as a PDF.

Latin America--Foreign Relations--United States

United States--Foreign Relations--Latin America--Sources

Argentina--Foreign Relations--United States

Latin America--Relations--United States

International Cooperation

United States--Foreign Relations--1981-1989

Americans--Central America--History--19th century

Nicaragua--History--Fillibuster War, 1855-1860

Mexico--Politics and Government--1861-1867

Latin America--Civilization--American Influences

Cuba--History--Autonomy and Independence Movements

Argentina--History--Dirty Wawr, 1976-1983

State-sponsored terrorism--Chile--History--20th century

Imperialism

United Fruit Company--History

Banana trade--Costa Rica

Labor Unions--Honduras--History

Guatemala--History--Revolution, 1954

Individual's Names

William, Walker

Castro, Fidel