U.S. Government Documents

For more detailed information see the Yale's Government Documents & Informationsubject guide prepared by the Librarian for Government Information.

HeinOnline foreign relations of the United States
ProQuest Congressional
One of the best sources for U.S. government documents. Contains the Congressional Record and numerous hearings, reports and other documents from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976-present)
The CGP is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from all branches of the federal government. It's a good way to find citations to documents that aren't in Yale's government documents collection, but could be requested through interlibrary loan.
more...less...
The CGP is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from all branches of the federal government. It's a good way to find citations to documents that aren't in Yale's government documents collection, but could be requested through interlibrary loan.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 (Yale subscription database)
The Monthly Catalog is the predecessor of the CGP. This database acts as an index to historical government documents; while it doesn't include full text, it can help you find citations to documents that you can then search for in Orbis or other library catalogs.
more...less...
The Monthly Catalog is the predecessor of the CGP. This database acts as an index to historical government documents; while it doesn't include full text, it can help you find citations to documents that you can then search for in Orbis or other library catalogs.
FDsys
FDsys from the Government Printing Office contains the full text of key regulatory documents: the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the List of CFR Sections Affected, and the Unified Agenda. Use the "Featured Collections" sidebar to navigate to these publications, or perform a quick search to pull these sources (with the exception of the List of CFR Sections Affected) together. In the search box, include your keywords and category:"regulatory information" .
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature (Yale subscription)
Guide to primary and secondary sources for the study of American foreign relations, produced by ABC-Clio and the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR). The chapter on "Reference Works and Bibliographies" gives a good overview of the types of resources that foreign relations historians use, along with how/where to find these resources.
Primary Sources on American Foreign Relations

US State Department Records (National Archives)

Datasets

For data access contact researchdata@yale.edu

Other U.S. Dept. of State Records - Decimal Files

Yale University Library has hundreds of microfilms of Dept. of State communications concerning Latin America. They include instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, notes between Department of State and foreign diplomatic and consular representatives in the U.S., memorandums prepared by officials of the department and correspondence with officials of other government departments and with private firms and persons from 1806-1963.

Please consult the Latin American Microform Collections guide for Yale Libraries. The guide is arranged by country.

History of U.S. - Latin American Relations: U.S. Government Documents