It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of library resources social, cultural & linguistic anthropology, archaeology and physical anthropology for the countries of Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Viet Nam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, the Philippines and Timor Leste
Summary: Supplies annotated and indexed entries on publications in Asian and European languages relating to prehistory, (proto)historical archaeology, art history (including modern art), material culture, epigraphy, palaeography, numismatics and sigillography.
Summary: Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology.
1 CD-ROM : col. ; 4 3/4 in. Produced in cooperation with the World Wildlife Fund.
Includes map viewing software and full datasets for users with GIS software. Layers include: socio-economic; flooding; topography and land cover; hydropower, irrigation, and navigation; and fisheries and biodiversity.
Includes interactive data on the environment and socio-economic conditions in Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam.