It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of library resources social, cultural & linguistic anthropology, archaeology and physical anthropology for the countries of Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Viet Nam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, the Philippines and Timor Leste
Institutes and Associations in and about Southeast Asia
Listed here are links and information about institutes and associations focused on the various fields of anthropology relating to Southeast Asia, including the countries of Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, the Philippines and Timor Leste.
From website for this association:
•promotes cooperation in the study of the prehistory of eastern Asia (east of 70º longitude) and the Pacific region
•maintains scholarly communication through regular congresses, communications, and the IPPA Bulletin
•upholds ethical standards in prehistorical research.
The antecedent of IPPA was originally founded in 1929. It was termed the Far Eastern Prehistory Association from 1953 to 1976, after which the name was changed to Indo-Pacific Prehistory Association. IPPA currently has about 600 members and 60 bulletin subscribers in over 35 countries.
From ISEAS Mission Statement: "The Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) was established as an autonomous organization in 1968 by an Act of Parliament. Its aims are:
• To be a leading research centre and think tank dedicated to the study of socio-political, security, and economic trends and developments in Southeast Asia and its wider geostrategic and economic environment.
• To stimulate research and debate within scholarly circles, enhance public awareness of the region, and facilitate the search for viable solutions to the varied problems confronting the region.
• To serve as a centre for international, regional and local scholars and other researchers to do research on the region and publish and publicize their findings.
To achieve these aims, the Institute conducts a range of research programmes; holds conferences, workshops, lectures and seminars; publishes briefs, research journals and books; and generally provides a range of research support facilities, including a large library collection."
The Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde / Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV) aims to be a world-class research institute for the study of Southeast Asia and the Caribbean, with a focus on Indonesia and the ‘Dutch’ Caribbean, in an interdisciplinary and comparative perspective. Benefitting from the unrivalled collections offered on campus by Leiden University, KITLV researchers explore (dis)continuities between the (pre)colonial and postcolonial period, and articulate their research agendas empirically and theoretically in order to advance wider debates on the meandering paths of globalization. KITLV engages with the academic community across the world, as well as with (inter)national governmental organizations, NGOs, the media, and the interested general public. KITLV is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).
Research at KITLV is interdisciplinary by nature and characterized by approaches including (1) a strong historical dimension exploring (dis)continuities from the (pre)colonial to the postcolonial period and (2) an anthropological perspective; both of which aim to bring human agency into focus and investigate questions concerning motivation and signification; while (3) a political approach focuses on broader frameworks of power that mediate between global forces and local actors. History, anthropology, and the study of politics and language all offer comparative approaches for opening windows to wider global connections. Archival research, field work and textual and visual analysis are vital to this enterprise. KITLV research is characterized by an ongoing reflection on the historical linkages between (post)colonial scholarship and collections policies. This implies methodological reflection on the uses of colonial archives, and on the meaning and impact of e-technologies in academic research and data management.
KITLV invests in two long-term research themes: State, Violence and Citizenship and Mobility and Identity. These themes, relevant to the processes of post-colonial state formation and globalisation in South East Asia and the Caribbean at large, are connected by interrelated questions concerning the dynamics of power, meaning and belonging. KITLV aims to translate these themes into agenda-setting projects conducted by research teams consisting of senior scholars, postdoctoral researchers, PhD candidates and visiting fellows."
From website: "The KSC Orang Asli Archive (OAA) is a repository for published and unpublished documents, films, tapes and other recordings relevant to Orang Asli peoples and cultures. The Orang Asli are the indigenous peoples of Peninsular Malaysia and comprise about 17 to 20 different groups." Images from Archive may be found by searching "orang asli" in digital website: http://commons.keene.edu/