It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To research documentation within the UN, one should be aware of the document symbols each branch of the UN utilizes. More on the symbols can be found here.
About the United Nations collection
Yale University Library has been a depository for United Nations programme since 1945. The UN depository collection includes official records of the main organs of the United Nations, periodicals, United Nations Treaty Series, United Nations Development Programme and United Nations Environment Programme publications, other generally distributed documents and publications of the United Nations, and selected sales publications.
Other United Nations depository libraries in the Northeast include Brown, Columbia, Harvard, New York University, and Princeton. Consult the complete list of United Nations depository libraries for more information. While few documents are currently distributed through the Depository Programme, there is a Depository News section that may be consulted.
Librarian for Political Science. Global Affairs, and Ethnicity, Race, and Migration
"This comprehensive handbook designed for the general public sets forth the structure of the United Nations, how the Organization works and the main issues it deals with in their importance for people everywhere."
The United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library has created excellent research guides on a variety of topics (development, disarmament, human rights, etc.), as well as very thorough resources for understanding UN documentation and how/where to find it. I recommend these guides for anyone undertaking in-depth research with United Nations materials.
If you're interested in United Nations activities for a particular year, or in tracing activities over time, this is an invaluable reference resource that provides detailed overviews of the UN's work and concerns. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council resolutions. Discontinued in 2014.
Yale and Open resources for United Nations research
Catalog of United Nations documents and publications indexed by the UN's libraries in NYC and Geneva; coverage is from 1979-onward, with older documents added regularly. Also provides some full-text access, including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
Full text of United Nations official documentation, 1993-present with some older materials. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.