Company Information - MGT 410 - Competitor - Yale University Library Research Guides at Yale University

Please Note

Resources were covered in the live class sessions on November 1 & 2 are noted in bold text.

About SEC Filings

All publicly-held companies in the US must file financial information with the SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission).

Form 10-K (contains audited annual financial statements)
Form 10-Q (contains unaudited quarterly financial statements)
Form 8-K (current information including preliminary earnings announcements)
Registration statements including Form S-1 (general registration statement under the Securities Act of 1933, used for new issuers) and Form F-6 (registration statement used by foreign issuers of American Depositary Receipts).

For more information, see the SEC's Beginners' Guide to Financial Statements.

Essential EDGAR Links

EDGAR Company Search
Government database of public company filings. Acronym for Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval .
more...less...
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

EDGAR also provides access to comment and response letters relating to disclosure filings made after August 1, 2004.
Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors
A guide from the SEC about corporate filings and using EDGAR.

EDGAR is freely available online.

Databases That Collect SEC Filings

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
FactSet
Requires registration for an individual account. FactSet Connect features comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies, in a flexible, easy-to-use, web-based environment.
Mergent Online
Company Information & Financials | Reports
Provides information on U.S. and international companies. Key features include current and historical financial statement data, annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, supply chain information, and analyst research reports.
LSEG Workspace
Comany Information & Financials | Financial Markets | Data | Reports
Also called Refinitiv Workspace
Features market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more.
Requires users to register for an individual account.

Private and VC-Backed Company Information

Locating information on Private Companies can be difficult - especially financial information. The following databases will have some information. Tip: check multiple source to determine of the figures are accurate.

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Requires registering an individual account with a yale email address. Individuals that do not want to create an individual account can use S&P NetAdvantage for similar functionality.
CB Insights
CB Insights provides real-time information about global start-up companies and investors. Requires users to sign up for an account using a Yale email address. Please note: Expert Intelligence reports are not available with academic or university accounts.
Mergent Intellect
Company Information | Directory | Industry & Market Research
Directory of global business information that features access to private and public U.S and international business data, executive contact information, and industry research. Data is provided from D&B Hoovers.
PitchBook
Features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. Requires users to sign up for an accounting using a Yale email address.
more...less...
Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Accounts will automatically be reset annually on May 31.
PrivCo
Source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Requires users to sign up for an account using a Yale email address.
LSEG Workspace
Requires users to register for an individual account. Learn more here.