It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look here for full text databases on subjects ranging from the Renaissance to the Risorgimento. The list includes a collection of databases specific to Italian studies and others of a more general nature, but that include many works in the Italian language or in the field of Italian studies.
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
Hosted by the Associazione Italiana Autori Scrittori Artisti "L'ARCHIVIO", this site includes digitized primary and secondary sources on Italian literature, history, and culture, including cinema, television, art, music and photography.
The Census of Italian 16th Century Editions (EDIT 16) aims at documenting Italian books printed during the 16th century and at reviewing the countrywide heritage. The data base includes editions printed in Italy between 1501 and 1600, in any language, and editions printed abroad in Italian. It also contains information about the authors, publishers, uniform titles, printers' devices which can be used for direct search and the related bibliographic sources archive.
Collection of almost 500 full-text Italian classics divided by period and author. Several projects also present critical works such as biographies, bibliographies, and introductions to the works of the most important Italian writers.
The CMCL is an enterprise dedicated to the study of Egyptian Christian culture in the I-XII centuries C.E., especially for the documents in Coptic language. This web site contains the archives of the CMCL: texts, grammar, history of literature, catalogue of manuscripts, bibliography. One can consult the list of the authors and works of the Coptic literature with information on manuscripts, content, and critical problems; the list of the Coptic codices either well preserved or reconstructed, espe
Virtual encyclopedia of the Decamerone, plus the Corbaccio and the Elegia di Madonna Fiammetta, that includes the text in its established critical edition (Branca), sources, translations, annotations, commentaries, and bibliographies.
The Online Catasto is a World Wide Web searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records). It is based on David Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber, Principal Investigators, Census and Property Survey of Florentine Dominions in the Province of Tuscany, 1427-1480.
Iter Italicum is a finding list for previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. It is a tool for scholars working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
Electronic database the letters of one of the most exhaustive and complete courtly archives of early modern Europe: the Medici Granducal Archival Collection (Mediceo del Principato). This archival collection ― comprising over four-million letters distributed in 6,429 volumes and occupying a mile of shelf space ― covers a chronological span of two hundred years, from 1537 to 1743. It documents the political, diplomatic, gastronomic, economic, artistic, scientific, military and medical culture of early modern Tuscany and Europe.
The database contains 1581 vernacular texts (19.1+ million words, 447,675 unique forms, 165 MB of textual data) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers. The OVI database was created to aid in the compilation of an historical dictionary of the Italian language, the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini, (portions of which are now available online). The fully-searchable ItalNet implementation of the OVI database presented here has been produced in order to enable scholars around the world to benefit from this rich textual resource.
Core multidisciplinary full text databases at Yale
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database for many journals with indexing and abstracts for many more journals in the collection. Nearly every area of academic study is included: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts, etc.
Humanities Abstracts Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus the full text of over 95 of those periodicals.
It covers the followings fields: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.
Keep in mind that JSTOR is only an archive for academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages. It is a great resource but there is a problem with dates of coverage. Publishers would lose too much revenue if they provided all their content to the low-cost JSTOR database. Therefore, publishers generally withhold the most recent five years of a title from JSTOR.
Examples of journals of interest: MLN (Modern Language Notes), Modern Language Journal, Nineteenth-Century Literature, Renaissance News, Representations, Yale French Studies, French Historical Studies, French Review.
Contrary to JSTOR, Project Muse is a platform for publications. The content is available immediately online, sometimes even before the print version.
It covers e-journals in the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Yale University Press. It is a great resource, but the content is very selective.