Yale University Library Research Guides: Architecture Research @ Yale: Images, Plans, Drawings, Maps, AV

Maps

Maps @Yale
Geographic Information Systems at Yale: Getting Started with GIS
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin
A collection of over 250,000 maps from around the world with 11,000+ available online.
World Fact Book
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people,government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Scanned historical maps from all over the world and a variety of time periods.
Euratlas History and Geography of the World
Digital historical political maps from different time periods across the world.
Library of Congress Map Collections
Containing only a fraction of what the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division holds, this digital library of maps focuses on cartographic treasures and Americana.
Old Maps Online
Directory of sites online that have old maps.

Visual Dictionaries of Architecture

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture (Ching)

A Visual Dictionary of Chinese Architecture (Guo)

Reading Architecture: A Visual Lexicon (Hopkins)

Video on Architecture & Design

Art & Architecture in Video
Documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

OnArchitecture
An online audiovisual database featuring videos of building projects and interviews with contemporary architects.

Pidgeon Digital
Illustrated talks by architects and related designers.

Finding Building Plans and Images in Published Literature

Articles:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodical Literature This is the premier database for locating indexed architecture articles.

Remember to search for variations on the building's name. For example "Villa Stein" or "Villa Stein-de Monzie" or "Villa de Monzie" or "Villa Garches"

Books:

Books+ or Orbis

Books tend to have a broader scope than articles. If you are not finding a book specifically on the building you are researching, try broadening your search. For example: Instead of searching for books only on Villa Stein, search Le Corbusier and Villa as keywords.

Digital Images & Databases:

ARTstor : a subscription-based digital image resource with images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Building Types Online: Includes case studies by experts, architectural drawings, and photographs of the buildings. Browsable by building type, urban context, morphological type, context type, and author.

Digital Collections: digitized material from Yale University Library, including images of global art and architecture from the Visual Resources Collection.

Archival and Manuscript Materials:

Archives at Yale: This database consists of finding aids for archival and manuscript materials at Yale University. Collections can be described at the collection, box, or item level, but do not include full text indexing. See also Primary Sources on Architecture at Yale.

Plans, Sections, and Elevations:

These Library of Congress Subject Headings can be helpful places to start, but are not the only way to locate plans, sections, and elevations. *These may be included in articles but are not consistently published.

Architecture - Image Databases

Archipedia (Society of Architectural Historians)
An authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places. Content drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from twelve of the published BUS volumes. SAH Archipedia will grow in the coming years, as other published BUS books are digitized, current BUS volumes are completed, and peer-reviewed, born-digital content is created.
Archnet
Free Online Database
An international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations.
ARTstor
Building Types Online
Includes case studies by experts, architectural drawings, and photographs of the buildings. Browsable by building type, urban context, morphological type, context type, and author.
Detail Inspiration
Provides photographs, drawings and technical product information from thousands of builds featured in the journal DETAIL as well as its supplements Structure, Detail Green, and Detail Inside. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location, year of construction and more.
Europeana
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
RIBA Library Catalogue
Lets you search the RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue which includes catalogues of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection and the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection, a biographical database of architects, and other materials acquired by the RIBA Library Drawings Collection since 1986, with brief entries for all earlier acquisitions.
urbanNext
Curated website with multi-format content about contemporary urban environments including innovative case studies and research. The weekly theme is highlighted at the top of the screen. Formats include: streaming video talks, streaming audio podcasts, essays, data, projects, books, and a photographic atlas of the cities.
Yale Digital Collections

Architecture Research @ Yale: Images, Plans, Drawings, Maps, AV

Maps

Visual Dictionaries of Architecture

Video on Architecture & Design

Finding Building Plans and Images in Published Literature

Architecture - Image Databases

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries