A source for detailed population and housing information in the United States.

Under the terms of the 2013 Federal Open Data Policy, newly-generated government data is required to be made available in open, machine-readable formats, while continuing to ensure privacy and security.

DataHaven is a partner of the National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership, a collaborative national effort by the Urban Institute in Washington, DC and approximately 40 local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood information systems in local policymaking and community building.

Social, economic, and environmental data from around the world.

NACJD archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Find information that is produced and used by New York City government; run by the Mayor’s Office of Data Analytics (MODA) and the Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications (DoITT) partner to form the Open Data team.

The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. Explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.

Find data from many UN organizations.

Tabula allows you to extract that data from a PDF into a CSV or Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. Tabula works on Mac, Windows and Linux.

Learn how to save PubMed search results as a comma-separated value (CSV) file and import them into a spreadsheet

Useful resources for students getting started with data analysis.

Gateway to digital historical maps from library collections around the world. Search results provide a direct link to the image map on the website of the host institution, and also allow you to overlay the map for digital projects.

Click and drag software for data analysis and visualization. Produce charts, graphs, and maps from your data. Note: Tableau Public is free, and all published data is also open to the public; Tableau Desktop requires a subscription.

A curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

Repository for all file formats and types of data--searchable, browsable, and taggable.

Discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

Access a collection of social science research data by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses"). Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.

A general-purpose repository that allows researchers to deposit data sets, research software, reports, and any other research related digital artifacts; developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN.

Detailed information on more than 2,000 research data repositories; a comprehensive source of reference for research data infrastructures globally.

Access to the same collection data available through the Museum's collection online, but in a computer readable format.

OCR bulk downloads from the Library of Congress of America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.

Freely-available corpus of English, containing more than 560 million words of text (20 million words each year 1990-2017) and is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.

Find information about museums and related organizations in the United States.

Data for Research (DfR) provides datasets of content on JSTOR for use in research and teaching.

Data about the Smithsonian's diverse collection of American artworks and the artists who created them.

Select data of artworks in the Met Museum's collection―both works the Met Musuem believes to be in the public domain and those under copyright or other restrictions―to the public domain. Download, share, modify, and distribute the data for any purpose, including commercial and noncommercial use, free of charge and without requiring permission from the Met Museum.

Data from three commercially-available databases of historical books: Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Evans Early American Imprints. Data not yet public as of (2/2019).

The CERN Open Data portal is the access point to a growing range of data produced through the research performed at CERN. It disseminates the preserved output from various research activities, including accompanying software and documentation which is needed to understand and analyze the data being shared.

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction; from the University of Michigan.

The portal's main dataset consists of specimens from the Museum's collection database, with 4,222,757 records from the Museum’s Palaeontology, Mineralogy, Botany, Entomology and Zoology collections.

Political and popular opinion survey data; survey data is released two years after the reports are issued.