It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This landmark reference work is the first of its kind. Featuring 450 articles by an international community of scholars, it is the definitive account of what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. Discovered in 1947 by a Bedouin shepherd, the collection of 800 manuscripts is older than any other collection of manuscripts of the Hebrew Scriptures by almost one thousand years. What do the scrolls tell us about the people who wrote them? What do they tell us about early Christianity and Second Temple Judaism? How do they confirm or contradict what we thought we knew about the Bible? With contributions from 100 distinguished scholars representing diverse traditions and fields of learning, this volume offers the most comprehensive critical synthesis of current knowledge about the Dead Sea Scrolls--and their historical, archaeological, linguistic, and religious contexts. Written in non-technical language this reference work provides authoritative answers and information for all readers.
The volume consists of 27 surveys of research into the Dead Sea Scrolls in the past 60 years, written by 26 authors. An innovation of the volume is that it covers Qumran scholarship in separate countries: the USA, Canada, Israel, France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Scandinavia, Italy and the Eastern bloc. Each essay also carries a detailed bibliography for the respective country. Biographies of all the major scholars active in the field are briefly given as well. This book thereby exhaustively surveys past and present Qumran research, outlining its particular development in various circumstances and national contexts. For the first time, perspectives and information not recorded in any other publication are highlighted.
'An essential volume for all college and seminary libraries...'
Christianity Today, 1973.
'...his volume is a useful addition to the existing publications and a welcome guide in the labyrinth of the literature on the Scrolls.'
G. Vermes, Journal of Jewish Studies.
This volume contains a bibliography of the research on the Dead Sea Scrolls published during the last 25 years, and as such it provides scholars with an indispensable tool for further research.Although originally planned as a continuation of B. Jongelings A Classified Bibliography of the Finds of the Desert of Judah 1958-1969, the materials are presented in a different way in order to avoid unnecessary duplications of entries. Each bibliographical entry is alphabetically listed in the first part of the book and is provided with an identification number which allows for multiple classifications. The second part offers a sophisticated classification of the materials by themes, topics and key words, but also by manuscript numbers and titles of the compositions as well as by authors.
This book presents the authoritative print bibliography of current scholarship on the Dead Sea Scrolls, Qumran, and related fields (including New Testament studies); source, subject, and language indices facilitate its use by scholars and students within and outside the field.
The Dead Sea Scrolls probably represent the most significant historical manuscript discovery in recent history. In 1993 Brill Academic Publishers published all available DSS photographs on microfilm together with an extensive guide to them. But because microfilm offers less than optimal access, all film has been transferred onto CD-ROM which mean that the digital computer technology is making such tasks as cross referencing, interpretation and comparisons much easier and faster than before. "The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Reference Library project takes the form of an ongoing archive. Brill Academic Publishers and Oxford University Press, granted exclusive rights by the Israeli Antiquities Authority to produce this CD-ROM edition of the Dead Sea Scrolls, will publish new volumes in the series on a regular basis. Volume 1, a 3 CD-ROM package, comprises over 3,500 black and white images and detailed support information. Success in scholarship today is increasingly a function of the speed and convenience of source access and interpretation. The rich material detail combined with the unprecedented manipulative capabilities of the computer mean the "DSS Electronic Reference Library leaves all alternatives far in its wake. Optiware software System requirements: 7Windows 3.1 or higher 7Processor: 486 or higher 7RAM: 16Mb (minimum); 32Mb (recommended) 7Monitor and graphics card: SVGAand 256 colors 74x CD-ROM player (minimum); 32x CD-ROM player (recommended) Note: DSS 1 is not compatible with Windows XP! Technical Support: E-mail: email@example.com