It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
This guide is intended to provide an overview of library social science resources for students of ancient history. If you have any questions or comments please contact Colin McCaffrey, Classics Librarian, email@example.com or stop by the Classics Library.
"designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. Ranging from 50 to 500 words, they succinctly define terms within each specific discipline and acquaint readers with the intellectual issues at stake when the terms are used. The entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies. In addition to terminology, the Dictionary includes nearly 275 biographies of major figures—from Franz Boas to John Maynard Keynes to Max Weber, whose work has had a profound impact on the various fields."
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
"... a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. "
the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. With over 1800 entries / 3.5 million words it will define the discipline of sociology for years to come and provides:
Clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field
An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics
Materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge
Introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe
Sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities
A timeline, lexicon by subject area, and extensive bibliographies
Regular updates of new and revised entries and features
"designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited. A distinguished Advisory Board recommends entry topics, assists in the selection of authors, and defines the project's scope."
"This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology."
"While some classic articles from the 1987 were retained, around 80% of the text
was either entirely new or substantially rewritten to reflect the depth of
change within the discipline between the editions. The new edition retains the inspiring
tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice in their
areas of expertise. Released simultaneously online The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is a dynamic, updated resource serving
the information needs of a new generation of economists. "
"The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies."--home page.