Bibliography of Asian StudiesContains citation records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published in Western-languages from 1971 to the present.
CiNiiCiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database for information on academic articles published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, and for articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
FactivaFactiva contains nearly 8,000 sources from 118 countries and 22 languages, and 120 continuously updated newswires.
Gunsho ruijū 群書類従 (JK)This set consists of important collections relating to Japanese literary classics and historical records in a variety of areas such as history, literature & language, religion, customs, art, performing art, education, politics, economics, law and geography, etc. The database provides full-text search function of this very authoritative reference sources.
Fūzoku Gahō 風俗画報One of the first Japanese illustrated magazines from Meiji 22 (1889) to Taishō 5 (1916) depicting manners and customs of Meiji Japan. Including prints and photographs, all articles in the magazine are searchable by titles, authors, dates, place names and keywords. The database can also be used for finding pictorial and encyclopedic information about variety of topics.
JAANUS: Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System"This dictionary contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868)."
JAIROJapanese Institutional Repositories Online. Growing archives of electronic journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers and research papers are redeposited in this database.
JapanKnowledgeA large online collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other Japanese reference works that you can search in one easy step. Searches are only possible in Japanese
Japan Times ArchivesThe Japan Times is Japan’s oldest English language newspaper and the country’s only independent English-language newspaper today. The digital archive allows you to search the full text of all issues of The Japan Times published between March 1897 and 2018.
Japanese Data Archive (Roper Center)Access to JPOLL is currently FREE of charge to the public (as of Oct. 2008), but REQUIRES INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION. Japanese Data Archive has two components: JPOLL, a question-level database of Japanese public opinion, and the Japanese Data Library, which is made up of thousands of Japanese survey research studies. JPOLL contains more than 10,000 public opinion questions and the respective responses from Japan's major survey research sources.
Japanese Historical Text Initiative (JHTI)JHTI is a database of historical texts from several time periods. Each text is cross-tagged with an English translation, allowing researchers to view both versions side-by-side.
Jitsu 字通A Chinese character dictionary complied by Shirakawa Shizuka containing 9,500 Chinese characters. Can search by a character’s reading, radical names, total stroke number, old readings, meaning, authoritative sources, compound words, and parts of characters. Also found in the JapanKnowledge database. (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)
Journal@archiveJournal@rchive is a site developed by JST (Japan Science and Technology Agency) in order to preserve and provide access to Japanese academic journals. These journals are mostly in scientific fields and include the series beginning with their first issues, including those published in the 19th century.
Kanopy Streaming"Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students." Offers numbers of videos on variety of topics in Japan.
Asahi Shinbun Cross Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチFull-text database of Asahi newspapers from 1879 to the present, including local issues (1998 and later ), and Historical Photo Archives between 1931and 1945. The database also includes full-text articles of AERA (1988.5 - present), Shukan Asahi (2004- present) and the newest edition of Chiezo.
Kokubungaku Ronbun Mokuroku 国文学論文目録データベースComprehensive database for research on Japanese literature published from the 1920s to the present. It includes citations of any works on Japanese literature in books, journal articles, bulletins and annuals.
Kokushi daijiten 国史大辞典 (JK)This digital database contains more that 58,000 entries. The additional 4,000 entries not in the printed version focus on uncommon nouns and important historical terminology. Can search by keyword, title, author, and articles' bibliographic references. Also in JapanKnowledge.
Kōseisha Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei DatabaseThis combines content previously available in its other databases, such as MagazinePLUS. It indexes journals published in the Meiji, Taishō and early Shōwa periods, as well as minor journals that were published in local prefectures and cities.
This database is one of several major journal index databases available for Japanese journals. It is the only one that provides an index of journal articles published in the Meiji, Taishō, and early Shōwa periods to the present. It also contains important local journals that were published in prefectures and cities that are not in the NDL journal index. Users can search terms in the modern language for words changed historically. In addition, each search clarifies which Japanese university library holds the specific journal and desired article.
Library PressDisplaySeveral current Japanese newspapers both in English and Japanese. Click to select "Japan" under Titles by Country.
International Herald Tribune
Mainichi Shimbun Digital
The Wall Street Journal Asia
Mainichi Shinbun, Maisaku 毎日新聞Mainichi newspaper articles are stored as follows
Year 1872 to 1986 : Only image data - via PDF
Year 1987 to 1999 : Image data and Text
Year 2000 to Current : Only Text
0) Operating Environment: Windows XP, VISTA, 7 & Internet Explore
1) Visit http://kjsystems.sakura.ne.jp/kotenlibrary/download/toshokan
2) Click the green button [ダウンロードまたはアプリケーションの起動].
3) Install dedicated viewer
4) Click [和歌＆俳諧ライブラリー] button on the top page「日本文学Ｗｅｂ図書館」
5) Enter User ID and Password to login (get the information from email@example.com)
6) For further details: http://kjsystems.sakura.ne.jp/kotenlibrary/manual/tebiki#MENUGAMEN
Nihon Kokugo Daijiten Online 日本国語大辞典One of most important Japanese language dictionaries, it contains about 500,000 entries with 1,000,000 sample sentences listed by gojūon. Digital edition through JapanKnowledge database (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)
Print edition also held: PL675 N54+ in the East Asia Reading Room.
Orbis record: http://orbexpress.library.yale.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=1060485
Nihon Kotenseki Sogo Mokuroku日本古典籍総合目録The online version of the Kokusho somokuroku provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku kenkyu shiryokan). The Kokusho kihon detabesu is based on both the Kokusho somokuroku and the Kotenseki sogo mokuroku, and it provides bibliographic information on pre-modern publications.
Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei 日本歴史地名大系Based on the printed version, this online database provides historical information about the history, lifestyle and culture of approximately 200,000 famous places, including those mentioned in early texts such as Fudoki, Man'yoshu, Kojiki and Nihon Shoki; places famous in modern history; and significant topographical information.
The information is related to the natural history of the nation. The online version allows for the full-text search and quick cross-referencing of locations whose names have changed over time. An interactive map interface allows users to view certain historical maps from the Meiji Fukkatsu Chizu collection (1884-1887), with a larger selection of historical maps available in PDF format. This database is included in the JapanKnowledge database. Patrons must begin their search of Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei, by accessing JapanKnowledge first.
Nikkei Telecom 21 (日本経済新聞)One of Japan's largest business databases, it delivers the latest news and gives access to Nikkei's extensive news archive, business information, and corporate profiles (Five main sections: News; Real-time Nikkei news wire service in Japanese and English; Market & Economic Indicators; Stock Indexes, exchange rates, bond pricing etc.; and Full Text Articles).
Sengo Nihon Shōnen Shōjo Zasshi Dētābēsu(戦後日本少年少女雑誌データーベース) is a relatively nascent private database that focuses on the compilation of data pertaining to Japanese youth magazines in the postwar period. These magazines are often not preserved in traditional library collections. This database is available in a trial version only. Please click the link for the free edition under the login area.
Web OyaWeb Oya is an online database of the index from the Ōya Sōichi Bunko (below), which is well known for its strong collection of popular weekly, general interest, and women's magazines. Web Oya lets you search titles, keywords and people (as authors or subjects) of popular magazine articles from 1988 to 1995. Although the database is rapidly and continuously adding contents from magazines published in 1868 to 1987, for full coverage of the collection, please consult their print version in the East Asia Library Reference. (Please note: this database is only for magazine index. It is NOT full-text. For obtaining the actual journal, please check Orbis for availability.)
Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞) 1874 to the presentNew version of Yomiuri Shinbun database which lets you search all Yomiuri articles from 1874 to the present and advertisement in the Meiji, Taisho and early Showa. It includes the English Daily Yomiuri from 1989. (The Daily Yomiuri is also in the online journals section).
Taiyō 太陽 (日本近代文学館)Taiyō was a comprehensive journal published by Hakubunkan from Meiji 28 (1895) to Showa 3 (1928). The collection includes a total of 531 issues (175,000 pages), with contributions from approximately 6,500 authors. Fields covered are government, economics, society, general natural science, literature, and manners and customs. Because of its comprehensiveness, the online version of this journal provides some of useful features, including indexing with controlled vocabularies. All the colored illustrations are also included and indexed. The Taiyō database includes special issues特別号 of Taiyō, except some maps and tables in supplements.