It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the Fall 2021 semester, we have currently been advised that we should offer some in-person consultation options, depending on your preference. I am offering remote only consultations (via Zoom) on Mondays and Thursdays. You will have the option of remote or in-person consultations on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Click the Schedule Appointment button on this page below my photo.
Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Yale Library is piloting something called Lean Library Access for the fall semester that makes accessing resources more seamless from off-campus. Zotero also has a plugin feature that can automatically save the proxy prefix. View more info on the remote access page.
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.
Yale University Library has just done a major website redesign. If you are having difficulties locating something you need that was on the old website, please email me.
Recent titles in geology and geophysics. Please click on each title to view the resource. Searches for geology (here), geophysics (here), atmospheric science (here), and oceanography (here) provide access to lists of recent titles. There are 4 RSS feeds among the links below, so what is on display here is limited.
GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences, and it grows by at least 80,000 references a year (you publish a lot!): journals, books, maps, and reports. The database also includes masters' and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. If you have a question about any subfield of the geosciences, this is probably your best starting point.
This ebook database is good. Its goal is to connect researchers to reference books in a new way — where the tables, charts, and figures are interactive and allow for notetaking. If you're looking for technical information about materials, instrumentation, or how things work in applied settings, this is a great place to go. Earth Sciences, Oil/Gas Engineering, Metals & Metallurgy, and Sustainable Energy & Development are all categories of note, but it's likely that information beyond just these will be helpful to you, too.
This database combines the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection, the Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database into a single search platform, with coverage from 1946-present and robust, human-curated indexing. It will be particularly useful to researchers performing advanced searches, with time-saving search limits by keyword, author, author institution, and abstract. Its full-text resources range from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, and technical reports to magazines, conference proceedings, and government publications. Notable items within the database are the Water Resources Abstracts, EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Toxicology Abstracts.
The Treatises on Geochemistry, Geomorphology, and Geophysics from Elsevier. They are excellent reference resources that can really help a researcher dig into an overview of particular aspects of these fields.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. Appointments will happen using Zoom or other videoconferencing software. Zoom has a phone option for those who need to call in. Depending on current pandemic restrictions and library policy, an in-person option may be available in the scheduler.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. I am OFFSITE most Mondays and Thursdays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower
"Yale University acknowledges that indigenous peoples and nations, including Mohegan, Mashantucket Pequot, Eastern Pequot, Schaghticoke,Golden Hill Paugussett, Niantic, and the Quinnipiac and other Algonquian speaking peoples, have stewarded through generations the lands and waterways of what is now the state of Connecticut. We honor and respect the enduring relationship that exists between these peoples and nations and this land."
For more information on the land acknowledgement, please look here.