Yale University Library Research Guides: Library Resources for Entering Research Workshops : Home

General Research Tools

Land Acknowledgment

Yale University acknowledges that indigenous peoples and nations, including Mohegan, Mashantucket Pequot, Eastern Pequot, Schaghticoke, Golden Hill Paugussett, Niantic, and the Quinnipiac and other Algonquin speaking peoples, have stewarded through generations the lands and waterways of what is now the state of Connecticut. We honor and respect the enduring relationship that exists between these peoples and nations and this land.

More information

Major Resources for Identifying Journal Articles in Science

BIOSIS Previews
Large database for biology and botany citations and abstracts. 1926-. International in coverage. > 26 million citations.
CAB Direct
Database for agriculture and applied biology citations and abstracts. International in coverage.
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases with signed articles on medicine and health care.
GeoRef
Citations to the international literature of geology.
Global Health
Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Public health citations 1910-.
Google Scholar
Multidisciplinary. For biology, search results complement BIOSIS Previews.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
This is a searchable book series which also includes Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics.
PubMed
Large government database for biomedical citations to journal articles.
SciFinder-n
Large, international database for chemistry journal article citations and abstracts.1907-.
Scopus
Database for biomedical or interdisciplinary topics (1823-). International in coverage. Citings 1996-.
UptoDate
Topic reviews in medicine, written by faculty experts.
Web of Science
Database covering core journals in all science fields. Good for interdisciplinary topics. International. 1900-. Cited reference searching possible.
Zoological Record
Database for zoology and natural history journal citations. International in coverage. 1864-.

Managing Your Literature Citations

Free accounts for EndNote Web and RefWorks can be created at the Citation Management Guide. EndNote desktop can be downloaded for Yale affiliates at http://www.yale.edu/software .

Library Resources for Entering Research Workshops : Home

General Research Tools

Land Acknowledgment

Major Resources for Identifying Journal Articles in Science

Managing Your Literature Citations

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries