Yale University Library Research Guides: Environmental Design : Sustainable Materials

WHAT EXPERT RESEARCHERS KNOW

Yale Library provides specialized databases and print guides for a wide range of building codes, standards, and handbooks.

The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice by Joseph A. Demkin (Editor); American Institute of Architects Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780470009574
Publication Date: 2008
Architects must be proficient in a variety of business practices to contribute to, manage, or launch a successful firm. They are responsible for the same kind of legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative activities as any other professional. Within these broad categories, however, there are many details, including professional standards and documents, that are unique to the profession of architecture.

Material ConneXion
Vended Online Database: Coverage: current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials.
Contains over 1,400 materials and processes. The online materials database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries-typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. Historical products or companies are not covered.
Material Order
Co-founded by Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Rhode Island School of Design, Material Order is the leading resource for design materials collections at academic and cultural institutions. Utilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions.

MADCAD.com
MAD CAD is a online reference database that contains cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes primarily from the United States, but including some international resources
more...less...
To access the content Yale has subscribed to in Madcad, click on the red button that says “Proceed to E-Library”. Limited to one user at a time.
BuildingGreen Suite
The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools provides information on green design. It integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies.
SmartCode
The SmartCode is a model transect-based planning and zoning document based on environmental analysis. It addresses all scales of planning, from the region to the community to the block and building. The template is intended for local calibration to your town or neighborhood. As a form-based code, the SmartCode keeps settlements compact and rural lands open, literally reforming the sprawling patterns of separated-use zoning.