Yale University Library Research Guides: Christian Ethics Guide: Home

Introduction

The goal of this guide is to direct you to resources in the area of Christian ethics.

Here you will find:

- Dictionaries and encyclopedias on ethics, philosophy, and religious ethics.

- Websites of organizations dedicated to Christian ethics.

- Journals and databases to begin research on ethics.

- Resources on specific topics in ethics (e.g., Catholic social teaching)

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Philosopher's Index Includes resources on ethics.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POESIS) Searchable access to a database containing the full-text of current, recent, and back issues of philosophy journals, including journals with a focus on ethics and religion.
Religion & Philosophy Collection Offers indexing, abstracts, and full text for philosophy and religion journals dating back to 1975. Includes content on moral philosophy.

International Encyclopedia of Ethics (Online) by Hugh LaFollette (Editor-In-Chief) Espouses a broad vision of ethics that creates links to many other disciplines, including medicine, technology studies, computer science, business, religion, and law. Entries range in size from shorter definitions and biographies to extended treatments of major topics.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online) A free, online encyclopedia on philosophy that includes multiple articles on ethics. Searchable by specific topic on ethics (e.g., "environmental ethics").
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online) by Edward Craig (Editor) Consists of ten volumes. Searchable by "Ethics" in Topics section or "Christian philosophy" under religion.
An Introduction to Christian Ethics by Robin W. Lovin
The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics by Gilbert Meilaender (Editor); William Werpehowski (Editor) Offers the most authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline. Ethics is first placed firmly within the Christian theological tradition, from which thought and action can never be neatly separated.
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, BJ1191 .O94X 2005