Yale University Library Research Guides: Christian Ethics Guide: Reference Works

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Ethics (Online) by Hugh LaFollette (Editor-In-Chief) The definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, available both in print and online. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (Online) by Robert L. Brawley
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online) A free, online encyclopedia on philosophy that includes multiple articles on ethics. Searchable by specific topic on ethics (e.g., "environmental ethics").
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online) by Edward Craig (Editor) Consists of ten volumes. Searchable by "Ethics" in Topics section or "Christian philosophy" under religion.
Ethics: Questions & Morality of Human Actions by Salem Press Fourth volume of this series covers religion and ethics.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols.) by Donald M. Borchert (Editor) Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more.
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room, B51 .E53X 2006 (LC)+ Oversize

The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics by Gilbert Meilaender (Editor); William Werpehowski (Editor) Offers the most authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline. Ethics is first placed firmly within the Christian theological tradition, from which thought and action can never be neatly separated.
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, BJ1191 .O94X 2005
Handbook of Roman Catholic Moral Terms by James T. Bretzke Contains more than 800 moral terms, offering concise definitions, historical context, and illustrations of how these terms are used in the Catholic tradition, including Church teaching and documents.
T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Ethics by Tobias Winright (editor) Provides an ecumenical introduction to Christian ethics, its sources, methods, and applications
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Ethics by Robin Gill (Editor) Provides a comprehensive introduction to Christian ethics.
The Routledge Companion to Christian Ethics (Online) by D. Stephen Long (Editor); Rebekah L. Miles (Editor) The handbook is divided into three parts based on the three persons of the Trinity: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Within these sections, cutting-edge issues are examined, including: God and genetics, War, peace, and violence, Digital ethics, etc.

Routledge Handbooks Online Multiple handbooks available on ethics, including Feminist Bioethics, Animal Ethics, Ethics and Public Policy, Food Ethics, Global Ethics, Environmental Ethics, and others.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy
Oxford Bibliographies: Philosophy Includes over 400 entries on various areas of philosophy and ethics.
Oxford Dictionary of Ethics Provides key terms from ethical theory and touches upon a variety of relevant subfields including metaethics, normative ethics, and applied ethics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics Explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues.
Society of Christian Ethics: African American Ethics Bibliography Last updated in 2021.
Society of Christian Ethics: Asian American Ethics Bibliography Last updated in 2021.
Society of Christian Ethics: Latino/a Ethics Bibliography Last updated in 2021.

Library of Theological Ethics (Series) by Various editors A series that includes volumes on evangelical, feminist, and womanist ethics, as well as other classic text by on thinkers like Niebuhr, Rauschenbusch, and Barth.