Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 114J / WGSS 114 Women, Gender, and Work in U.S. History: Collection Materials Used in Class

Collection Materials Used in Class

The following entries highlight the archival collections used in the class session held in the Gates classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, on Tuesday, March 1st, 2022. All collections listed below are housed in Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library.

Women and Work Collection (MS 1313)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

PDF transcripts of most interviews in this collection are available online through Wayne State University

Overview: Typed transcripts (electrostatic copies) of interviews, conducted in the 1970s, with women for the project: "The Twentieth Century Trade Union Woman: Vehicle for Social Change," conducted by the Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations (University of Michigan-Wayne State University) Program on Women and Work. A few of the interviews were prepared in cooperation with other universities conducting similar projects, among them Pennsylvania State University, the Black Women Oral History Project of the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, the Ohio Labor History Project, the Roosevelt University Oral History Project, the Southern Oral History Program, and the University of Iowa Oral History Project. Although a wide range of industries and their respective unions were surveyed, the unions most heavily represented are the Amalgamated Clothing Workers Union, the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union, the Textile Workers Union, and the United Auto Workers. [Links in this Overview are to other oral history projects that make digitized interviews available online.]

Collection materials used in class session:

Elizabeth Page Harris Papers (MS 771)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The papers contain correspondence, family papers, writings, printed works, photoprints, and other materials documenting the life and career of Elizabeth Page Harris. The Harris Papers have extensive material on such subjects as family life, single women, publishers and publishing, voluntarism, the International Grenfell Association, American Friends Service Committee, the Society of Friends, Japanese American incarceration, and pacifism.

Collection materials used in class session:

  • Series IV, Box 80, Folder 1733: Correspondence between Harris and Japanese American neighbors and friends who were incarcerated by the U.S. government under Executive Order 9066, July-December 1943.

Louise Bryant Papers (MS 1840)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The papers consist of correspondence, writings, notebooks, artwork, photographs, and printed matter which document Louise Bryant's career as a journalist and her personal and family life. The papers contain only a small amount of material about John Reed. In the summer of 1917, Bryant obtained her first assignment as a foreign correspondent for the newly formed Bell Syndicate, traveling to France to report on the war in Europe. One of her articles on the war appeared in the New York American and another in The Masses. Her reporting on the Russian Revolution later that year brought her to the top of her field. Bryant and Reed arrived in Russia in late summer 1917, just two months before the Bolshevik Revolution toppled the short-lived Provisional Government under Aleksandr Kerensky. Bryant witnessed this upheaval from Petrograd and interviewed many of the leading participants including Kerensky, Vladimir Lenin, Leon Trotsky, Alexandra Kollantai, Catherine Breshkovsky, and Marie Spiridonova.

Collection materials used in class session:

Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD) Records (MS 1961)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this  collection

Overview: The records document the organization and activities of the Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (GLAD), a nonprofit legal organization dedicated to defending the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and people with HIV, primarily in New England. The collection primarily consists of litigation, amicus, and legal research files. Also included are correspondence, topical files, reports, meeting minutes, publications, volunteer and training manuals, and newspaper clippings created or maintained by GLAD. While the majority of the files are related to GLAD's litigation efforts, all aspects of the organization are documented in the collection, including its history, structure, and activities from its founding in 1978 to the present. The collection provides a rich resource for the study of GLAD, anti-discrimination efforts, social attitudes towards LGBTQ people and those affected by HIV/AIDS, and the legal issues facing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and people with HIV in the United States.

Collection materials used in class session

  • Series III, Box 52, Folder 4: Public Affairs, general: Mary Bonauto - letters to the editor project, 1998-2001.
    • From the GLAD website: "Mary L. Bonauto has served as the Civil Rights Project Director at GLAD since 1990 and has litigated and done policy work in every New England state.   She has litigated in the state and federal courts of New England on many types of discrimination issues, including addressing anti-LGBTQ discrimination as discrimination based on sex, establishing parentage protections, strengthening student rights, free speech, and religious liberty, relationship recognition, and marriage defense. In 2015 she successfully argued before the US Supreme Court in the historic case Obergefell v. Hodges, which established the freedom to marry for same-sex couples nationwide."

Employee Unions and Strikes, Yale University, Records (RU 105)

Link to the Archives at Yale finding aid for this collection

Overview: The records consist of flyers, news clippings, posters, buttons, and a videotape documenting union organizing activities and labor strikes at Yale University.

Collection materials used in class session