It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This course guide is intended to assist students in their research projects for the course Women, Gender, and Work in U.S. History (HIST 114J / WGSS 114), taught by Anne Lessy during Spring term 2022 at Yale University. The selection of resources included in this guide is not intended to be comprehensive.
Students in this course should feel free to contact any of the following librarians as a starting point for research assistance with their projects for this course.
Melissa Barton: Curator for Prose and Drama, Yale Collection of American Literature, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library - firstname.lastname@example.org
James Kessenides: Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - email@example.com
Bill Landis: Associate Director for Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library - firstname.lastname@example.org
Jennifer Snow: Program Director for Instruction, Marx Science and Social Science Library, and Librarian for Anthropology, Sociology, and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies - email@example.com
Yale Library Search Tools
The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:
Searches books, e-books, journals (but not individual articles), government documents, and other physical and digital items. It's the classic catalog of Yale Library *not* including items from the Law Library. Can be used to find both primary and secondary sources.
If your topic relates to legal history or potentially involves research in legal materials, be sure to include Morris in your search, or alternatively to use Books+ (which searches both Morris and Orbis).
A combined search of the library's books, journals and journal articles, licensed databases, digitized archival collections, and more. Searches Orbis as well as Morris, which is the Law Library catalog. A vast, Google-like search, but some library materials will still not be retrieved by it, and the advanced search refinements and options to use just one part of Quicksearch or another can be key to running efficient, manageable, and successful searches.
Within Quicksearch, Books+ will limit your search to the books (and reports and numerous other monographs, as opposed to journal articles) that are found across the Yale Libraries. Orbis + Morris (Law Library) collections are searched together.
The search portal for finding archival materials at Yale. Look for the Scope & Contents notes, inventories, and PDF Finding Aids to assess the relevance of materials to your research project. Also see the Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University for more information on finding, requesting, and using archival materials in the Yale Library.