It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For up-to-date information on COVID-19 and library services, including vaccination requirements, using special collections, and hybrid library services, please visit COVID Library Updates.More information about Yale's public health response is here. Masks are not required in library reading rooms, although masking is welcome and encouraged. Masks are required during in-person library workshops and classes, in compliance with Yale's masking policy.
Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.
Articles+ is a single search box that covers about 80% of Yale's online resources. It's great for linguistics because you can search across multiple article/ebook platforms simultaneously for what we have in full text — or you can check the box that says "add results beyond your library's collection" to include abstracts that you could request via interlibrary loan. Once you search, use the faceting to narrow down to specific subject terms, content types, date ranges, and more.
The LDC is an open consortium of universities, libraries, corporations, and government research labs that was formed to improve data for language tech research and development. The catalog contains 100s of holdings, with corpora that either stand on their own or were used for specific projects. It has a helpful search page.
LLBA contains information about publications in Linguistics and related fields from 1973 – Present. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and other information resources in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. To make the best use of this resource, use its Thesaurus (look at the blue bar, upper right, once you click) or search using the Linguistics Topic field. You can also make use of the abstract indexing to do test searches and refine your results as you go.
WALS is a publication put out by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology. You can browse languages by feature (e.g., languages with Feature 93A, "position of interrogative phrases in content questions") and connect to the resource where the language is described.
Widely considered to be one of the most important public intellectuals of our time, Noam Chomsky has revolutionized modern linguistics. His thought has had a profound impact upon the philosophy of language, mind, and science, as well as the interdisciplinary field of cognitive science which his work helped to establish. Now, in this new Companion dedicated to his substantial body of work and the range of its influence, an international assembly of prominent linguists, philosophers, and cognitive scientists reflect upon the interdisciplinary reach of Chomsky's intellectual contributions. Balancing theoretical rigor with accessibility to the non-specialist, the Companion is organized into eight sections--including the historical development of Chomsky's theories and the current state of the art, comparison with rival usage-based approaches, and the relation of his generative approach to work on linguistic processing, acquisition, semantics, pragmatics, and philosophy of language. Later chapters address Chomsky's rationalist critique of behaviorism and related empiricist approaches to psychology, as well as his insistence upon a "Galilean" methodology in cognitive science. Following a brief discussion of the relation of his work in linguistics to his work on political issues, the book concludes with an essay written by Chomsky himself, reflecting on the history and character of his work in his own words. A significant contribution to the study of Chomsky's thought, A Companion to Chomsky is an indispensable resource for philosophers, linguists, psychologists, advanced undergraduate and graduate students, and general readers with interest in Noam Chomsky's intellectual legacy as one of the great thinkers of the twentieth century.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. In-person and virtual (Zoom) appointments are both possible. Please note that Science Hill is a 15-minute walk from central campus, and there is a temporary entrance due to construction.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. During the semester (not during breaks!), I am onsite on Thursdays. I am OFFSITE most Mondays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower
"Yale University acknowledges that indigenous peoples and nations, including Mohegan, Mashantucket Pequot, Eastern Pequot, Schaghticoke,Golden Hill Paugussett, Niantic, and the Quinnipiac and other Algonquian speaking peoples, have stewarded through generations the lands and waterways of what is now the state of Connecticut. We honor and respect the enduring relationship that exists between these peoples and nations and this land."
For more information on the land acknowledgement, please look here.