It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale University Library supports many open access initiatives through membership fees. These include preprint servers like the arXiv and medRxiv, Knowledge Unlatched, the Biodiversity Heritage Library, Reveal Digital, the Technical Report Archive & Image Library, and the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics. Read more about our open access initiative support here.
Some of our databases have filters that allow you to see what is being published open access, including the Web of Science and Scopus. If you want to see what Yale authors have published under open access licenses, for example, do a search on Yale University using the Institution/Affiliation filter, then narrow down to open access in the results.
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database for many journals with indexing and abstracts for many more journals in the collection. Nearly every area of academic study is included: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts, etc.
Articles+ is a single search box that covers about 80% of Yale's online resources. It's great for linguistics because you can search across multiple article/ebook platforms simultaneously for what we have in full text — or you can check the box that says "add results beyond your library's collection" to include abstracts that you could request via interlibrary loan. Once you search, use the faceting to narrow down to specific subject terms, content types, date ranges, and more.
The IBZ is an international bibliography of periodical literature. It indexes periodical articles in many subject areas in German, French and English. Coverage of the printed volumes, including earlier titles, goes back to 1896.
This link goes to the Linguistics subject portal on JSTOR, which lists the journals, books, and documents related to the discipline (occasionally cross-listed from other fields). You can use the search box at the top to search in only the information resources with the Linguistics subject tag.
Contains 450,000+ detailed descriptions of linguistics publications on general and language-specific theoretical linguistics. Particular attention is given to endangered and less studied languages. Updated monthly.
LLBA contains information about publications in Linguistics and related fields from 1973 – Present. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MIT CogNet is a research tool for scholars studying cognitive science and related areas. Its coverage includes linguistics, specifically with the journals Linguistic Inquiry and Computational Linguistics, in addition to some handbooks on cognitive science that may include linguistics information. They also integrate with hypothes.is, an open source tool that allows users to discuss, collaborate, and organize research right from within the browser.
The Web of Science is an abstract database, which means it indexes abstracts and other information from academic articles to let you know what has been published in a research area. The database is strongest in the sciences, and it has medium-strong coverage in the Social Science and Humanities (although a generalist abstract database will never be as thorough as a subject-specific one). This is also the system that records the Impact Factor of journals; you can use it to figure out where to publish.
Accessing Articles from Off-Campus (not on YaleSecure or Yale Ethernet)
Yale Databases Tagged "Linguistics"
The Yale University Library maintains lists of databases. This is a feed of the databases that contain the subject heading of Linguistics.