Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

PHYS 047 / AMST 099 / ER&M 089 / HIST 059: Asian Americans and STEM: Home

An interdisciplinary course guide highlighting resources for your projects.

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for Asian Americans and STEM (AMST 099 / ER&M 089 / HIST 059 / PHYS 047). In this guide, you will find resources from across the sciences, social sciences, and history disciplines to support you in your research projects.

You are all working on very unique projects. This collection of databases, along with the framework for how to locate information about a person and their scientific research, can help you during your research and writing process. We recommend starting with the Biographies tab.

Background Sources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


A Companion to Asian American Studies
This collection brings together 20 essays central to defining the field of Asian American Studies.


A Companion to Korean American Studies


Oxford Bibliographies
An extensive collection of annotated bibliographies often pointing to both primary and secondary sources.


The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
Lengthy chapters provide overviews of the historiography and suggestions for further reading.


The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
Arranged by subfields such as Asian American History, 20th Century: Post-1945, 20th Century: Pre-1945, Late 19th-Century History. The articles here are informative with substantial discussion of the historical literature and suggestions for primary and secondary sources.


Wiley Online Library
Includes A Companion to Asian American Studies, Asian American Studies After Critical Mass, A Companion to 19th-Century America, A Companion to 20th-Century Americaand other potentially useful reference works in which the chapters will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.

Contact Information

Kayleigh Bohémier
Librarian for Astronomy, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Linguistics, and Physics
Email me.

Jennifer Snow
Librarian for Anthropology, Sociology, and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Interim librarian for Ethnicity, Race, and Migration program
Email me.
Request an appointment.

James Kessenides
Kaplanoff Librarian for American History
Email me.
Request an appointment.