It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the Fall 2021 semester, we have currently been advised that we should offer some in-person consultation options, depending on your preference. I am offering remote only consultations (via Zoom) on Mondays and Thursdays. You will have the option of remote or in-person consultations on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Click the Schedule Appointment button on this page below my photo.
Most library resources are available via a URL proxy prefix, but you can also download and install the VPN. Being connected to the VPN makes our electronic resources behave as if you were connected to YaleSecure.
Resources accessed from the library website and catalog will automatically use the off-campus access URL prefix. If you are off-campus, not on the VPN, and NOT accessing a resource through the library website, the prefix is https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url= ... and you would get to JSTOR by putting that in front of the JSTOR URL: https://yale.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://jstor.org
Yale Library is piloting something called Lean Library Access for the fall semester that makes accessing resources more seamless from off-campus. Zotero also has a plugin feature that can automatically save the proxy prefix. View more info on the remote access page.
Sometimes, we have access to a resource through an aggregator, not the publisher's website. In those cases, checking the library website for access is very useful.
Yale University Library has just done a major website redesign. If you are having difficulties locating something you need that was on the old website, please email me.
Welcome to the Physics subject guide. Here, you will find:
Reference data and handbooks.
A primer on the library's subscription databases, what they do, and how you can use them.
Maybe you have questions about how library subscription resources compare to other things available to you, such as Google Scholar and INSPIRE-HEP? Get Articles contains a comparison of four resources — Web of Science, the arXiv (which the library supports), INSPIRE-HEP, and Google Scholar.
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
INSPIRE provides author disambiguation for profiles and search; detailed record pages; searchable arXiv text; figure/captions searching; LHC experimental notes; and excellent content. Its front page includes a long list of search operators so you can get granular from the get-go. It predominantly serves high-energy physics, with some coverage of overlap areas.
The collection includes:
– IOP Expanding Physics: Full-length works.
– Concise Physics: Shorter texts “in rapidly-advancing areas” of physics. (Novella-length, but physics.)
– Physics World Discovery: Shorter ("longread"-length) works to help you get started in an area you're unfamiliar with.
– AAS-IOP Astronomy: eBooks published as a scholarly collaboration between both societies.
Each work is available in PDF, ePub, Kindle, or HTML format. They all have library catalog records.
Online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text. Citations of abstracts are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997. Searchable by university, department and adviser. Note: There are a lot of places to find dissertations. Go to the dissertation/theses resource list here to see your options.
The Web of Science is an abstract database, which means it indexes abstracts and other information from academic articles to let you know what has been published in a research area. The database is strongest in the sciences, and it is great for looking in the published physics literature. (It doesn't include preprints.) This is also the system that records the Impact Factor of journals; you can use it to figure out where to publish.
Please email me or use the Schedule Appointment button. Appointments will happen using Zoom or other videoconferencing software. Zoom has a phone option for those who need to call in. Depending on current pandemic restrictions and library policy, an in-person option may be available in the scheduler.
My default ONSITE days are Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. I am OFFSITE most Mondays and Thursdays.
Marx Science and Social Science Library (formerly called CSSSI)
219 Prospect Street
Kline Biology Tower
"Yale University acknowledges that indigenous peoples and nations, including Mohegan, Mashantucket Pequot, Eastern Pequot, Schaghticoke,Golden Hill Paugussett, Niantic, and the Quinnipiac and other Algonquian speaking peoples, have stewarded through generations the lands and waterways of what is now the state of Connecticut. We honor and respect the enduring relationship that exists between these peoples and nations and this land."
For more information on the land acknowledgement, please look here.