It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
Due to COVID-19, library services have been altered to facilitate social distancing. Right now, many library locations have opened for limited hours. Members of the Yale community have a choice between contactless and mediated checkouts, and many study spaces are available. Librarian consultation services, workshops, and instruction remain remote until further notice.
This guide contains important information about connecting to a variety of library resources. In addition to the content on the guide, let me stress:
QuickSearch Books+ has faceted searching. If you are only looking for online content, after searching, please select "Online" under format. The Library has made significant updates to QuickSearch to facilitate users who need online-only materials.
Library staff are still here to support you in your teaching, learning, and research. Please contact me using the information on my profile (below). You may email or schedule a Zoom appointment.
Welcome to the Physics subject guide. Here, you will find:
Reference data and handbooks.
A primer on the library's subscription databases, what they do, and how you can use them.
Maybe you have questions about how library subscription resources compare to other things available to you, such as Google Scholar and INSPIRE-HEP? Get Articles contains a comparison of four resources — Web of Science, the arXiv (which the library supports), INSPIRE-HEP, and Google Scholar.
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
INSPIRE provides author disambiguation for profiles and search; detailed record pages; searchable arXiv text; figure/captions searching; LHC experimental notes; and excellent content. Its front page includes a long list of search operators so you can get granular from the get-go. It predominantly serves high-energy physics, with some coverage of overlap areas.
The collection includes:
– IOP Expanding Physics: Full-length works.
– Concise Physics: Shorter texts “in rapidly-advancing areas” of physics. (Novella-length, but physics.)
– Physics World Discovery: Shorter ("longread"-length) works to help you get started in an area you're unfamiliar with.
– AAS-IOP Astronomy: eBooks published as a scholarly collaboration between both societies.
Each work is available in PDF, ePub, Kindle, or HTML format. They all have library catalog records.
Online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text. Citations of abstracts are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997. Searchable by university, department and adviser. Note: There are a lot of places to find dissertations. Go to the dissertation/theses resource list here to see your options.
The Web of Science is an abstract database, which means it indexes abstracts and other information from academic articles to let you know what has been published in a research area. The database is strongest in the sciences, and it is great for looking in the published physics literature. (It doesn't include preprints.) This is also the system that records the Impact Factor of journals; you can use it to figure out where to publish.